We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Many TV Screens!”
Review of The Beagle Pub

The Beagle Pub
Ranked #101 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Fairfield
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too Many TV Screens!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good pub food at decent prices, nice people, but there are TV screens with sports channels everywhere. If there's a football match in Italy that you want to see, this is the place. If you want to talk or eat without looking at a TV screen, go to Rosie's down the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    94
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Burger and brew special a great deal”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We took our beer-loving friends to lunch here after seeing their Thursday beer and brew special on their website: Their $13 half-pound burger plus a pint of Molson Canadian beer for only $10. Three of our group opted for that -- some went for onion rings for a couple bucks more, and they were quite good. I was looking more for good fish and chips, so I ordered the 2-piece option for $13. The pieces were huge and I easily could have gotten by with a single filet. I'd estimate each one was about 6 ounces or more. The batter was crispy, but not at all greasy, and the cod was fresh and very tasty. Fries also were crisp and relatively thin -- not the thick-cut steakhouse fries that are all-too common with fish and chips joints. The guys each had 2 pints over a 2-hour lunch. Friend stayed with the Molson; I started with a wheat beer then switched to Fat Tug, a hoppy IPA that was awarded a top Canadian brewing award last year. FILLING!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJohn97338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great neighbourhood pub”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This wonderful neighbourhood pub has been a favourite watering hole of mine for a long time. It's a great place to get together with friends for some drinks and good conversation. However the food is consistently poor so I would forget about eating there and just enjoy a drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KayComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Pub....still around!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stopped at the pub to see how things were, had not been here since 1999 and it was great then.
Had a great lunch with me wife, the food was very good as it was back then. This place reminds me of the Reagle Beagle from the the tv show 3's |Company,lol.
Anyways if your looking for a good bite of pub food and a tasty brew stop in, it's busy and the staff are friendly, also they're located at Cook Street Village which has a few shops that are unique along a couple of blocks, very cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Love it! Always busy, freindly staff and good value!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cook St neighbourhood pub is good value and really good pub food. The salads are great and plentiful, pulled pork tender and juicy and the opnion soup delicious. They have a great variety of beers and don't charge for refills on soft drinks for non-drinkers!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beagle Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Beagle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing