We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent, cheap alternative to an enema!”
Review of Ho Tong Restaurant

Ho Tong Restaurant
Ranked #548 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An excellent, cheap alternative to an enema!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I've spent the last 24 hours having the after effects of their food rip through my bowels. This is the second time I've had this experience from them (didn't want to assume the first time). Time for an anonymous call the the health inspector.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyIslander69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A nice, casual Chinese restaurant, with lots of lunch specials to choose from on the whiteboard.
Complimentary loose-leaf tea was very tasty. My favorite dish wasn't on the menu, but the waiter knew exactly what I was after: "Ma Po Tofu on Rice?" Perfect! Service was FAST, cooking was FAST, food was EXCELLENT.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mm__j__ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, large portions, good prices”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The lunch combos and family dinners for 2/4/6 are an excellent value, have large portions and tasted great. The $19 dinner for two stuffed us both for dinner and for lunch the next day with the leftovers. The $7 lunch combo specials are also a great value. We have our new go-to Chinese place. Not a fancy interior but the service was very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitsoutoftheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“scammers”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

was there yesterday to purchase some items from their take out lunch menu, and ordered 3 items, when I paid, I was shocked about the charges. it was over 30.00 dollars, which it should've been only 23.00 dollars, when I asked the lady owner, she said oh sorry, sorry, and returned only a dollar and some change, when I asked why, she said, it was wrong menu, which is b.s. cause I said I ordered it from that take out menu, she charged me 8.95 for chow mein, which is suppose to be only 5.95 on their take out menu, and 12.95 for squid, and only 11.50 on that menu, they do this quite often when they add additional few dollars or more on the bii, and if you dont look properly and check, , they will get away with it.....so to all customers out there who enjoy going there, watch out!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tambolina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistent, consistent, consistent”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

To me consistency is the mark of a well run kitchen, and this is well run kitchen. We order the "western" style food (only because we don't know what to order otherwise) but the authentic food that other people are eating looks and smells delicious!
Service is not great, but food comes out fast and hot, and delicious, time and time again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ah-fah-get-about-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Tong Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ho Tong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing