We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no frills, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jade Fountain

Jade Fountain
Ranked #568 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“no frills, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were advised by Chinese friends to go to the Jade Fountain for dim sum. It was good, with good selection. I don't know how you improve the service, or the selection, since you are really dependent on which trolley is coming by. However, they are pretty efficient, and the food is ample and tasty. Try to get there early or late to avoid the noon hour rush. The ambience is pretty unassuming, plastic and bright, with low-ceilings. You do feel as if you are in a basement, which you are. However, as I said the food is good, with an interesting array of choices. It is our preferred place for dim sum in Victoria.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    9
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will stick with Don Mee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went for dim sum on a Saturday. Got there before noon so beat the small rush that took place while we were there. My first impression of the place wasn't good. The "white" table cloth on our table had so many grease stains on it I thought for a moment that they hadn't changed it. The carpet on the stairs going in was appallingly filthy. The choices for dim sum were not as varied as Don Mee's and there were only a couple of the traditional carts. The rest of the food is loaded on to trays from a large warmer and carried around to the patrons. We had to ask five or six times for a fork for my son's gf and didn't get one till my hubby got up and went to the bar for it. Getting glasses of water took almost as many tries. The wait staff was friendly and pleasant enough however. The food was certainly OK but it was not the best I've had in Victoria by a long shot and given the choice in the future I will choose Don Mee where the selection and quality is better and the table linens are clean and tidy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarcyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is our favourite place in Victoria for an Asian fix at lunchtime. The dim sum treats are fresh and tasty, we never tire of it. Love the salt and pepper squid, eggplant and gai lan for
a veggie fix and just about anything else the servers tempt us with. Not only is the food so good the prices are very reasonable. Any time we have tried another restaurant we have always come back to Jade Fountain. Nothing else measures up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
293 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've been to better known dim sum places in Victoria. They don't outshine this one. There is plenty of food, and the servers describe the offerings clearly. In fact they tell you how delicious everything is. What we missed was the hot chile oil, of which we consume industrial quantities. There was none. We were provided with a spicy and tasty chile sauce, but missed the oil.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Dim-Sum in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been here many times and continue to come back and enjoy the great selection of treats. As a native Victorian, I have sampled most local dim sum venues going back to the Jade Palace (at one time the only dim sum restaurant in town) - the location is now Cafe Mexico.

On Sunday, my daughter and I went for early brunch - 10:30 am. Don't be concerned if there is no parking out front. The lots around the back or on the other side of the Galloping Goose Trail have plenty of room.

The selection was great - siu mai, haw gow, char siu bao, sticky rice, tofu done many ways, chicken feet, gai lan... Five minutes into service, we had enough food to last us for the entire meal! Stay hungry, my friends.

When it gets busy, don't expect the wait staff to anticipate your every need. If you want something, flag someone down and ask. If you don't see one of your favourite dishes, ask and someone will let you know what's up. A few different customers asked for the "sticky rice" and the waitresses brought it out directly. Besides the steam carts, other staff bring around trays of special items like deep fried shimp rolls wrapped in tofu.

It's loud and crowded and, if you get there after 11, you may have a bit of a wait. Though, I've never had to wait more than 20 minutes. It is a favourite of Asians and non-Asians alike. If you're really hungry, you can expect to pay from $15 to $20 per person. If you order too much, as for a take-away container when you pay the tab.

But if you just want Combo 1 - sweet and sour pork, chicken fried rice and chop suey, stick to the food court at the mall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Fountain also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Jade Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing