We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Live music”
Review of The Superior Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Superior Cafe
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: James Bay
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Live music”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great place to go and share small plates, listen to live music and drink fabulous wine. Service super friendly and relaxing! Plan on spending a couple of hours enjoying the ambiance of this Victoria landmark!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wandered by this cafe near Fisherman's Wharf and were glad we chose it for our dinner! The live music - French jazz- was great and the menu was full of variety. Our "small plates" were not-so-small - and delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“A Superior Experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is true and to believe it, you have to try out this restaurant. Actually, its more than a restaurant, it's an experience on a plane unto itself.

The food? Delish. Period. We were very sceptical about kimchi poutine but one of our party was brave and ordered it. The rest of us, of course, had to try it. And um, a culinary high point. The whole meal was a culinary flight of imagination. Wow! Just, Wow! Beyond the kimchi poutine, we enjoyed blue cheese burgers, steak sandwiches, salmon with vegetable ragout, crab & chorizo pasta and dessert. Dessert? Chocolate and peanut paté (no, not peanut butter but a real paté texture of dark rich choclate with coarse chopped peanuts)... woah.

Aaron Watson played some AMAAAAAZing music including the accordian and saw. Does that sound bizarre? It fit. Aaron Watson played to his surroundings and was great. He is a talented musician.

The dining experience was unique but you have to check out the museum in behind the restaurant, the gardens and well, the whole block. We walked around and I have to say I kept pinching myself to make sure it was all real.

One word to summarize all: Wonderful.

Oh, and don't forget to look for the crow alcove and the shadow boxing squirrels. Definitely, an ecletic experience ranging from the artistic to macabre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
737 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Short Walk From Fisherman's Wharf & You Will Have Nice Atmosphere & Booze!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fisherman's Wharf warrants a few hours to enjoy the water view and to get some tasty, but pricey, seafood at Barb's. But, for anyone wanting a cold beer, wine or cocktail, we could not locate ANY place that served it.

But, walk up the little hill to the road, turn left, another 3 minute walk and on the right is The Superior. It seems to be an old fashion neighborhood bar and lounge/restaurant. We enjoyed it. One can sit inside or outside on the side terrace.

Good service and nice talk with others. Folks range from eccentric to mid of the road. 20's to 70's. All good. Can recommend for a cold one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supper Club night is fun with local live music”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed our last night in Victoria at this little cafe close to Fisherman's wharf. The idea of live music attracted us. Our meal was delicious especially the dessert(s)! A relaxing atmosphere to have a great meal and music. One of the musicians dropped by our table to chat with us which was unexpected and nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Superior Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing