We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a wee dram...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irish Times Pub

Irish Times Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Irish Times Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: View Street
Description: Welcome to the Irish Times Pub, where excellent design and authenticity are at the heart of downtown Victoria"s most exciting new pub! Located at 1200 Government Street, the Irish Times Pub is home to 190 seats over two floors with 80 seats available on our patios, opening onto both Government Street and historic Bastion Square. Our concept goes far beyond mere architecture though. The Irish Times opened with everything it takes to make a pub successfully Irish, including authentic Live Irish music, 7 nights each week. The tradition of Ireland has also been extended to our menu, which has been developed on a philosophy of creating traditional Irish food and drink that is both contemporary and funky, showcasing Irish Pub Food as you would see in Ireland today.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“For a wee dram...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

No better place in Victoria for a late evening shot of Scottish single malt or Irish whiskey. Great selection and wonderful ambience. When we said we did not want to be near the very loud live music, the waitress took us to a lovely private seat upstairs. On other occasions we have been (happily) seated right near the musicians. Great atmosphere. It's all good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    411
    128
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My fiancé and I decided to stop here before heading back to Vancouver and weren't disappointed. Huge portions of delicious food at very reasonable prices topped off by a very helpful waitress who most definitely earned her tip. She actually commented that she felt we had left too much and didn't want us to be ripped off as tourists!! How great is that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real Pub experience, but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

On our last evening in this beautiful city, we dined at the Irish Times pub. It was on the day of the good Life marathon so it was a bit noisy with all the runners celebrating. the food was very good but we found it a bit pricey for pub fare. Also the service wasn't that great, but it was busy. We saw our waitress fixing her hair several times in the mirrors. Her time could have been better spent. The decor was great!! If you like to try different beers, this is the place for you. Would we return? Yes

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriRayManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub...but a Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Housed in the first two floors of a huge, old stone "castle", this place is packed with pub charm, with a bit of a pricier feel to it. The (lunch) menu seems to match the décor - classy, authentic and posh. We loved the great variety of British, Irish and local beers on tap. The menu is loaded with classic Irish dishes - Lamb Stew, Bangers & Mash, Shepard's Pie and Fish and Chips. The kicker comes when its time to settle up the tab. For lunch, the Fish & Chips ran $19. The Stew was $18. Don't get me wrong, it was all very good, but it was l-u-n-c-h...
$13-$15 might seem a bit more reasonable for a lunch.
The variety of beers imbibed that afternoon helped ease the pain...a bit. Just be prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_McCanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and beer, great ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Food and beer was awesome.
The ambiance was really nice and the service was excellent.
They have smaller rooms for a little more intimacy.

Helpful?
Thank Escapingoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing