We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Music”
Review of Irish Times Pub

Irish Times Pub
Ranked #22 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: View Street
Description: Welcome to the Irish Times Pub, where excellent design and authenticity are at the heart of downtown Victoria's BEST IRISH PUB! Located at 1200 Government Street, the Irish Times Pub is home to 190 seats over two floors with 80 seats available on our patios, opening onto both Government Street and historic Bastion Square. Our concept goes far beyond mere architecture though. The Irish Times opened with everything it takes to make a pub successfully Irish, including authentic Live Irish music, 7 nights a week. The tradition of Ireland has also been extended to our menu, which has been developed on a philosophy of creating traditional Irish food and drink that is both contemporary and funky, showcasing Irish Pub Food as you would see in Ireland today.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food and Music”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Can't talk to the interior atmosphere as we ate outside on their sidewalk patio, which helped mute the music to a minimal level, allowing us to talk freely while eating. I had bangers and mash (good) while my wife had a burger with brisket ( a little too spicy for her) with excellent crab bisque. Good variety of beer choices. A nice relaxing evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMD1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    455
    138
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fun times”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This pub is in downtown Victoria and is quite a hub of activity. The food is great and so is the atmosphere. There are several nooks and crannies for privacy. You will sometimes need the privacy as the place can get quite loud when the live music is on, and that is every night. I'd recommend this pub for a young crowd who want to celebrate anything.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cass1959_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington/ Oregon border
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok,food was good service could be a bit better”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had two lunch burger specials. I got a gluten free bun, that was nice. It took a long time to come for just burgers, but they were pretty good. I can't eat the sauce due to gluten allergy and asked from mayo and mustard but didn't ever get mustard and waitress didn't come around much. Husband would have like a drink refill but again we didn't see anyone. It was too warm to eat inside, no ac, so we ate outside. I didn't feel like the outside got much attention.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickispix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best lunch ever”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate here twice on our weekend trip it was so good!

- Great service. Checked on regularly.
- Crab bisque, fish and chips, BBQ pulled pork, salmon and crab nacho dip, and poutine were amazing.
- Loved the Guinness on tap! TONS of beer choices!
- Location and patio were great. Atmosphere was lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped here for lunch during our cruise ship stop. Food and beer were great. Our server was extremely nice and helpful. Felt like a traditional Irish Pub. Nicely done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing