We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland”
Review of Irish Times Pub

Irish Times Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Irish Times Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: View Street
Description: Welcome to the Irish Times Pub, where excellent design and authenticity are at the heart of downtown Victoria"s most exciting new pub! Located at 1200 Government Street, the Irish Times Pub is home to 190 seats over two floors with 80 seats available on our patios, opening onto both Government Street and historic Bastion Square. Our concept goes far beyond mere architecture though. The Irish Times opened with everything it takes to make a pub successfully Irish, including authentic Live Irish music, 7 nights a week. The tradition of Ireland has also been extended to our menu, which has been developed on a philosophy of creating traditional Irish food and drink that is both contemporary and funky, showcasing Irish Pub Food as you would see in Ireland today.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ireland”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Makes you feel like you are in Ireland. Lots of pretty girls and good live music. Prices are throught the roof though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Very glad that you enjoyed the atmoshpere we strive to create. Be sure to look for our daily specials next time you are in, there are some serious deals. Overall we try to offer good value with the premium fresh products we offer, the service and of course Live entertainment every night. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    424
    132
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for live music”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love Irish Times. Great place to hang out with lots of people. Great atmosphere, great choices. Is a little on the expensive side but when there are musicians rocking out you can't pick a better downtown bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We agree, lots of great bars to choose from downtown, but we keep coming back.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great burgers and fine beer selection. Variety of seating available and finding a reasonably quiet corner is possible. The bar is a fun place to have lunch and meet folks from out of town. Friendly, efficient staff (and the female members are particularly attractive).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jjapolinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the friendly review of our spot.
Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
445 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“We like the Irsih Times - good food, fun service, good music”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It is a pub - but the bacon and brie burger is awesome and the fish and chips great. The fries are handmade so are really good. Good value and the staff is always friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to have an alternative Thanksgiving dinner!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We ate here for Thanksgiving dinner. The menu featured traditional Irish/UK food including bangers and mash as well as US/Canadian pub fare faves. The decor was nice and the service was very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelerskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing