We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Irish Times Pub

Irish Times Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Irish Times Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: View Street
Description: Welcome to the Irish Times Pub, where excellent design and authenticity are at the heart of downtown Victoria"s most exciting new pub! Located at 1200 Government Street, the Irish Times Pub is home to 190 seats over two floors with 80 seats available on our patios, opening onto both Government Street and historic Bastion Square. Our concept goes far beyond mere architecture though. The Irish Times opened with everything it takes to make a pub successfully Irish, including authentic Live Irish music, 7 nights a week. The tradition of Ireland has also been extended to our menu, which has been developed on a philosophy of creating traditional Irish food and drink that is both contemporary and funky, showcasing Irish Pub Food as you would see in Ireland today.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stopped in ourselves the first night. We enjoyed the Shepherd's Pie and Pizza. The place was just about filled, but we got a seat almost immediately. It is a warm, inviting place with lots of small areas. The staff was friendly and did not hurry you-even if you weren't there for the drinks. There was enjoyable live entertainment. We returned the next evening with our daughter and son-in-law and ordered the salmon dinner and steak sandwich. Both were excellent. The steak sandwich had a wonderful Caesar salad as a choice of side. A third visit later in the week did not disappoint, so I would have to say the restaurant is consistent in the high quality of the food. It was conveniently located just a few blocks from the Empress Hotel. The prices were very reasonable. All four of us (ages 31-67) gave the restaurant high marks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Well thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a delightful review of our efforts. We are very thankful that you decided to visit us 3 times during your stay in town, we know there are lots of great spots to consider. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    419
    129
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed one of the best versions of fish and chips in North America during a lunch visit. Too bad there was no Magners (Irish) cider to go with the experience. Service was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Sorry that we were not able to pour you a Magners! We stock it, but on occasion our supply does not keep up with your demand. Glad you enjoyed our Fish n Chips. Thanks kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alot like the Irish pubs in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent ambience. Waiters very friendly and location is in the heart of Victoria. Come have a pint.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank reeta154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub Food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good pub Food, substantial Portions for a lunch.. usually never go into downtown Victoria... It was great for a luncheon, the service fast with a good menu

Helpful?
2 Thank G1zmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Noisy but tasty!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is great to party at, not as great for family conversations - very noisy. The food is delicious, albeit the menu limited. We had a great time, but likely not to return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
"Noisy but tasty" That is certainly what the nights are like at our spot. For those readers looking for a quiter dinning experience, we can certainly provide that too, may we suggest prior to 8pm when the Live Music begins each night. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing