We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Foodies MUST!”

John's Place Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Foodies MUST!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Trip Advisor lead us there due to it's high rating and what a great find!! A tight little place as far a space goes, and a little loud due to the music and the large crowd crammed into a small area, but this is part of the charm. I had Valdy's favorite, and now I have two reasons to love that guy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    336
    76
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went for a late lunch both had chicken souvlaki with Greek salad and fries. Followed by home made pecan pie, which we took out. Everything was fantastic. The best souvlaki I've had. The salad was fresh and delicious would love to go back there if we return to Canada.

Service was good and the place has lots of interesting pictures on the walls.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanyvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hands down, best Eggs Benedict anywhere :)”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I breakfasted here one morning while staying in Victoria. The fact that it was open befre 8 a.m. was a plus.
Hubby had a fruit and yogurt combo and I ordered the Can't Decide brekkie that had one poached egg benny and a pancake...BEST hollandaise sauce I have ever tasted (I have had a few) anywhere!
The walls are covered in personal sports mementos and pics...popular and friendly. Can't wait to try some other dish there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Shared a breakfast of poached eggs, bacon, chicken sausages and pancakes! And thank goodness we did!! The savory items were great but the pancakes were huge (size of a dinner plate) fluffy and to die for, topped with a cream cheese sauce (house speciality) maple syrup and fresh fruit! Venue was buzzing with lots of great memorabilia on the walls to study whilst waiting waiting the 20 mins for a table and staff were helpful and attentive. Shared a table with a interesting Canadian couple which made dining even more enjoyable!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfwidow2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,680 reviews
810 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Must Try for Breakfast!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We thought that we need to expand our restaurants regarding the weekend breakfast & John's is the place to try! The breakfast is tasty(homemade chorizo with eggs) & coffee is hot and the staff were #1. The décor with all the sports memorabilia on the walls was very interesting. Anyone who is celebrating a birthday this is a nice location to get a crowd to sing Happy Birthday to YOU!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Place Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to John's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing