We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Restaurant”
Review of Pagliacci's

Pagliacci's
Ranked #16 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This restaurant is in a quaint old building In Victoria BC. It is very comfortable and homey. The food is great. I had the daily noodles and they were yummy. We heard of this restaurant on one of the chef programs on TV. It was worth our while to look them up and the prices were reasonable. Go early as there are usually line ups to get in. It's a must restaurant to visit. The service was good and staff friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momdey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    419
    121
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The very best bread!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were a party of two so did not have to wait to get seated. It is not a very large place and the tables are very close together, so it is a bit noisy. That being said, the food was excellent and you were given a basket of the very best bread I had ever eaten. The portions are very generous and if you aren't too hungry, I would not order an appetizer. We did (shared) and were a bit full by the time we got our entrée. Definitely want to come back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the line”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Yup, we go here despite the hipster fools in Victoria that call it "played out" and a tourist trap. Ha, them hipsters are always too cool for school.

The line is usually pretty long. But they ply you with a bit of wine if you're standing around making friends with people from local and beyond. Who cares, you know what yer in for.

Prices are good. We take the kids, they eat everything and drink Shirley Temples. I think they're free.

Wine prices are terrific- nothing pretentious. All good.

Staff: great, eclectic and old-school. They've all been there for years. Yeah they're rushed, yeah things might take a bit of time, but they do it with a smile.

The bread is the best ever.

The food? Well, it's good, maybe very good. Not excellent or 5 star, that's not the point. It's nice to go out for great italian and have a fund night in a crazy place.

Seating: packed. You could be inches away from the next table. Who care. Meet someone new.

I want to go again tonight. The wife says she's in. We go often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, need to bear with the line up”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great food, need to bear with the line up to get in, but once you're seated you will be served with great food. The restaurant is tight and noisy... but great for a birthday celebration as we did last night. I loved the meat balls !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank datoptalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

While visiting Victoria, a local artist recommended we check out Pagliacci's. In Seattle, this is a chain pizza restaurant, so it was a great surprise to find a cool, Italian restaurant. The seating cramped - you're really squeezed in there, and the service is a tad slow (kind of tough to get drink refills), however the food is great. Especially the bread (it's probably a 1000 calories but it's delicious).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagliacci's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pagliacci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing