We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tapa Bar - we will miss you!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tapa Bar

The Tapa Bar
Ranked #22 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Tapa Bar - we will miss you!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everytime we go to Victoria we dine at The Tapa Bar. So let's say once a year for the past 10 years.... The food, service and atmosphere have always been very good (even when it is off the hook busy) and we always look forward to our evening there and then we talk about it for days after.

This time, however, while the service was still good, as was the atmosphere - the quantity and quality of the food had dipped somewhat. We found the food on the blander side and the portions were significantly reduced, and the primary ingredients seem to be missing in action.

Now I am happy to pay for a meal and I am never looking for cheap food and when I order something I have had before I tend to have expectations that it will look the same and taste the same (within reason). So I ended up being very disapointed with several of our dishes, in particular the cheese and chorizo sausage dip. It actually came in this teeny tiny bowl and had only a few pieces of chorizo in it. It was only enough dip for about one quarter of the chips and was hard before we could finish it. I guess it had been microwaved? It also had a serious shortage of chorizo in it...such that we only saw maybe five tiny bits.

Sadly, this will likely be our last visit as I do not appreciate bland food or a scrimping of ingredients that I am more than happy to pay for somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    173
    52
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“tasty tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visiting Victoria, we stumble onto Tapa Bar (that is how the sign is spelled) and discovered a tasty treat. We ordered the Ensalada de la casa, Heart of palm, Chile con quesco, pork Cubanette. Everything was plentiful and very tasty. Atmosphere was quaint and our server was good. Loved the Sangria!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“European feel. North American portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice warm atmosphere in this vibrant place up a small alley. friendly service but as the portions are way bigger than original Spanish tapas it's far too easy to over order. Our server recommended starting with ordering 4 dishes and adding more later. Luckily we only ordered 3 which was ample for the 2 of us. We had a smoked chicken salad - only 4 ingredients but so very tasty and fresh. Then hot to trot tarts - a serving was three! Then I forget the name of the last dish but it was bread with avocado and bean toppings. All very tasty. Hubby then polished of a trio of creme brulees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Large portions for Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located in the Trounce Alley, this small restaurant feels like a an European neighborhood spot, comfy and romantic. This was the first time my husband ate in a tapas restaurant. He was worried he would be leaving hungry, but the portions here were much larger than usually received in tapas spots. We were more than satisfied with a salad and entree each. I had the carrots and ravioli; both servings were large enough that I couldn't finish both.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good good good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

good food, good service, good ambience
always going back when in Victoria. It is a very nice place.
Service is always very (!) nice and friendly. Food is really good. Prices are not bad for a bar like this in the centre of touristy Victoria.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tapa Bar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Tapa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing