We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, but a little out of the way”

Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Ranked #45 of 1,188 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Victoria West
Cross street: Esquimalt Road
Transit: The BC Transit #25 public city bus stops directly in front of Spinnakers. Big bus hop on/hop off service also stops directly in front of the property. Akal Airporter service from Victoria International airport is available, with drop off on site. The Victoria Harbour Ferries stop is a short 5-minute walk away, ask the captain for directions.
Description: Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub and Guesthouses is a place that offers it all! Open seven days a week 8:00 am - 11:00 pm, guests are welcome to stop by any time of day to enjoy fresh, local food and great beer! Breakfast served-8am-2pm, Lunch menu available after 11am and Dinner Menu after 5pm.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good beer, but a little out of the way”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The pub seemed much further from downtown than touted. Given its reputation, I expected more craft beers on draft --- certainly, there's a fair selection, and we went through a couple of pitchers, but I expected a larger selection. Good chowder, and the fish and chips with fresh halibut was well done, For $19, I expected more than one piece of fish. Very noisy, and while there were musicians near us, they didn't seem to have a sound system. In a nice spot on the water, and definitely take the scenis walk past the Delta rather than sticking to Esquimault Road and some of its drearier blocks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinnakers G, Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Spinnakers on TripAdvisor, the feedback is invaluable to us.

It sound like you joined us for our Monday Night Irish Jam, some times it can get noisy up in the pub when they are playing.

I apologize for the limited beer selection when you came in and dined with us. Earlier this year the element burnt out in our brewing kettle, thus up until recently we have been running a little light as far as selection goes. We are currently caught up and also proud to be serving a selection of other great craft beer from other breweries around the Pacific North West.

I also took the time to speak with our chef regarding the Halibut and Chips. The fish we use is caught locally and the price of halibut drastically increase over the past few years. This has resulted in a spike in the price of this menu item. We will continue our conversation and devise a way to add value to this meal.

One again, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all feedback. Hope to see you back here one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    325
    135
    57
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great views, great beer!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Another of Victoria's great brew pubs! Amazing beer paired with amazing food. Go for the food and beer, stay for the view of the harbour! Great little gift shop with chocolates, beer, souvenirs for sale. Walk there from downtown along the water, a nice little trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinnakers G, Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Spinnakers.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate the feedback.

Hope to see you on the patio again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great fresh draught beer, the vegetarian pot pie is incredible! Decent service. A great Victoria staple.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinktravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinnakers G, Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to review Spinnakers on TripAdvisor.

The Vegetarian Pot Pie is one of my favorites as well.

We really appreciate the feedback.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We really enjoyed the fish and chips at Spinnakers. We would definitely go there again. Our kids chose hamburgers, and those were good, too. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the view of the harbor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinnakers G, Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review Spinnakers on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate the feedback.

It's great to hear that you and your family had a good time. Nothing pairs with Halibut & Chips better than a great view. Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“A toprate gastro pub featuring local food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It seems odd that a restaurant in victoria can make a name for itself by featuring local food -- surrounded by an ocean full of fish and excellent farmland. But I remember coming here ten years ago for breakfast meetings of local food enthusiasts, and this place really stood out. It still does. Relaxing place for a group to go to -- servers who can have fun with their guests and don't rush anything, nice selection of craft beers, and quality cooking of local ingredients. And an ideal location on a beautiful seaside -- ideal for a stroll before to whet the appetite and one after to work it off. Perfect nite out with friends.

    • Value
Helpful?
Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing