We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal out fine Italian Food”
Review of Padella Kitchen

Padella Kitchen
Ranked #146 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great meal out fine Italian Food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am a fan of Italian Cuisine and this totally did not disappoint . This was a birthday dinner for myself and my wife and we used a "Groupon". The Groupon entitled us to a set meal of anitpasti, zuppe or salad , entree and shared dessert. For antipasti we had an outstanding dish of Polpette - house meatballs in a delightful tomato sauce. My wife had the zuppe which was a fennel and cream soup that was very tasty. I had an Insalata Polpo, octopus salad which was truly amazing, In itself it was a mail on it own with roasted potatoes, octopus and a wonderful bitter green salad. I could had that alone and would have been happy. My wide followed with a squash and ricotta stuffed Ravioli while I had the spice pork sausage linguine. Finally we shared a tiramisu which was to die for. We each had a glass of a reasonably price PIno Grigio. The service, a tad on the slow was very attentive and helpful. Amazingly we were having dinner on a Tuesday night but it was packed. THere was a table across from us that had a "gaggle" of mums out celebrating and although we could hear there conversation they were obviously enjoying themselves and the meal. We had only been once to the previous incarnation - Paprika's but this was well worth a visit and we will return as there was lots of choice and food was really good value - in spite of the Groupon we felt the prices were reasonable but the food was that awesome

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cicero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gparker_1973, Owner at Padella Kitchen, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Cicero12,

Thanks for your comments and joining us for dinner. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Geoff Parker
Owner/Operator

PS. I have passed your comments on to our Chef John and he thanks you as well for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb Food - A Different Taste.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This neighbourhood restaurant near Willows Beach in the Estevan Shopping Village provides cosy ambience, good service and limited (menu) but excellent food. It is obvious that the chef knows how to assemble special and tasty dishes. Highly recommended for a special and/or romantic occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gparker_1973, Owner at Padella Kitchen, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Marley23069,

Thanks for joining us for dinner and I'm glad you enjoyed everything. This menu is a starting point and we can look forward to it evolving as we progress forward. Chef John is working on some other pasta recipes like egg free, gluten free and a whole wheat pasta.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks again!

Best Regards,
Geoff Parker
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A friend took me out for a leisurely Sat. lunch. We split an delicious appy of roasted brussel sprouts, garbanzo beans, tomato and basil. There was plenty for the two of us. We then both had the salad of tuna with greens. . The menu is small but with a few specials of the day quite adequate. Everything was tasty and fresh. The service was also very good. Definitely will go back perhaps to try for dinner next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KasperVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gparker_1973, Owner at Padella Kitchen, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi KasperVictoria,

We like lunch too, that's one of the reasons we decided to open for lunch. I'm glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you soon for dinner...or that next lunch craving!

Best Regards,
Geoff Parker
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Italian - decent food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Took advantage of a special four course for two and brought my son. My green salad was boring, his tuna was very flavourful. I had the squash ravioli and he the pork belly. Both were good but nothing I would rave about. The tiramisu dessert was light and tasty - we shared. Service was good and attentive, but bathroom felt like I had dropped into a diner rather than a restaurant.
Overall its a nice spot if you live nearby - parking is plentiful and free. Didn't feel the meal was worth the final price but this is a relatively new restaurant so they may evolve and I can check it out again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple fare made with quality ingredients”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My son and I enjoyed our second visit here and we were not disappointed. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Food was fresh and delightful. We'll be visiting again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padella Kitchen also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Padella Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing