We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Atmosphere”
Review of Pablo's Dining Lounge - CLOSED

Pablo's Dining Lounge
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: James Bay
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

When entering into Pablo's, you are welcomed with a warm smile and friendliness. Pablo's Dining Lounge is a very cozy place that had a great menu. Lots to choose from. Sure the price on menu is pricey but both the food and service is well first class. The food was really delicious and we will return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juneroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    3
    4
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A most bizarre experience and way overpriced”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Should have read these reviews before buying the Groupon!!! To start with the positive: our friendly young waiter gave us a lovely table and did try to save the evening from being a total disaster. Most of the food that we eventually ended up with was prepared very well. But, it was extremely pricey and pretty much everything went badly. Though the website indicates they are open daily, we found out the hard way that they aren't. When we did finally go, it was all very bizarre. Our wine turned out to be a 2009 and not the 2007 vintage listed and ordered and was served before we even saw the dinner menu - committing us to stay. We were never advised of the daily specials or of the set 3-course Dinner offer (presumably because it was not combinable with our Groupon). We were told, though, that they were all out of Halibut, out of Duck and out of Mussels. After much debate, we decided to start with the (expensive!!!) Caesar Salad (for 2) prepared at our table followed by two different lamb entrees. Shortly after ordering, our waiter returned to say that they had run out of lettuce (this was around 6:45pm) and could not make the Caesar salad for us. Totally stunned, we finally settled on other starters. No sooner was that request taken to the kitchen and our waiter was back again to announce that they did not have enough lamb left to prepare both entrees - they only had one rack. Not many choices left. We didn't want beef. Frustrated, we went with the full rack of Lamb (at $52 - non shareable) and the Mushroom Pasta. The "FULL rack" arrived and consisted of 3 small ribs!!! (do the math - that's $17 a rib) We were speechless - could not possibly imagine what a half rack would look like. At least it was tasty! The pasta was nothing special - totally forgetable. When we declined looking at the dessert menu, our waiter said in surprise, "But, that's the best part!". Definitely a memorable evening, for all the wrong reasons. Oh - and someone really should do something about the broken glass ball in the hanging lamp sculpture in the entrance way... I cannot think of what it would take to get us to ever go back to Pablos.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ricki-in-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We always wanted to try out Pablo's dining room and finally we did go. We made reservations and we were greeted and brought to our table by a nice person. We got a nice table and were handed the menu.
The restaurant advertises a three course steak dinner for a set price in the local paper but we were not offered that choice, nor was it in the menu.
As a starter we ordered the Foi Gras du Canard and it turned out it came out of a can barely out of the fridge it was almost frozen. The bread was stale.
As an entree we ordered their "famous" Chateaubriand. The presentation was very bad and the combination with red cabbage was odd. Altogether not attractive at all, furthermore the price of the dish was totally overpriced for what it offered.
We made a remark about it and the owner tried to make up for it at the dessert but overall we have no desire to go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cashdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst experience of our B.C. trip!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

While their menu asked for patience since they prepare everything from scratch for each order, this was ridiculous! We chose to order two appetizers each for our meal since there were several items that looked good, we didn't want a huge meal (nor their $35-45 entrees). We shared a dessert. We were there almost 3 hours waiting for these items, with part of the delay due to the waiter getting an item wrong. He apologized but I waited another 30 min., while others at our table finished their meals. No apology from manager; then mistake on our bills. We wondered if they were either trying to stretch our evening longer by pacing our appetizer items--or punishing us for not ordering a multi-course dinner!?

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BellesNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“sorry, but this place really does suck”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I love French food and even after reading the poor reviews I thought I would give this place a chance. Certainly not the smartest thing I ever did.

Walking up to the door you can see the place is tired, broken steps with missing grip pads, poor paint. etc etc.
The decor inside is really old and tired as well.

Our main server was really nice and polite, no complaints there at all.

Apps were all tasty, warm spinach salad was the clear winner but there was way too much dressing. Shrimp cocktail, was . . a shrimp cocktail, Beef Carpaccio was also fresh and tasty.

The mains were terrible:
Duck Confit appeared to be pan seared in oil, it was overcooked and tough. It tasted like a burnt chicken leg (for $28) it had absolutely no flavor. The chef should perhaps google duck confit.

The pan seared halibut was not seared, the skin was like soft rubber, the fish was dry and tasteless.

The pasta was typical dry pasta with some tomato sauce and was also completely underwhelming.

All the mains came with exactly the same veggies, not much flavor matching or creativity here.

Throughout the meal we could hear every word and activity in the kitchen including all the dropped plates and trays, it was the constant sound of the microwave beeping that gave the biggest clue that this was far from genuine French cuisine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pablo's Dining Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing