We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners getting tired”

Naughty Nellie's Not Just Fish & Chips
Ranked #160 of 1,197 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Owners getting tired”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been dining here for over 20 years . I was one of their first customers and have been on a first name basis for all these years .
They are usually quite friendly and accomadating .
I rate their fish and chips a five star value .
I do not go for the ambience as it is tight quarters and not that comfortable .
It is a good working mans place to go for lunch .
I have found that the past couple of visits the owners have been very cold .
There was a mixup on my bill and I ended up just paying the extra six dollars instead of arguing with her .
I enjoyed it while it lasted but I do not think I will go back . Just too negative experience from someone I have supported and tipped well for years .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When the urge for fish and chips arises, this is our "go to" place. The food is always freshly prepared, hot and delicious. Though certainly not a fancy place it is clean and the service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yyc
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Huge, delicious portions of Fish and Chips!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You could certainly feed more than 4 on a meal for four which included 8 pieces of fish (we ordered the halibut and it was delicious) 3 massive packages of french fries, cole slaw and tartar sauce. Everyone young and old loved the meal which we ate as a picnic while enjoying the sunshine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lsj321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummmo!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Definitely the place to go for good fish and chips/consistent quality/friendly and efficient service. Great little "mom and pop" neighbourhood place; generous portions at good prices!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria402010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had seafood and beef, beer and fancy drinks. Everything was great, the presentations wonderful, lots of little unexpected touches. If you like oysters raw, then this is the place. They must have 15 different varieties.

No touristy trappy dinners here, these are real chef cooked cuisine, fresh and wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cbrofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naughty Nellie's Not Just Fish & Chips also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Naughty Nellie's Not Just Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing