We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid chain restaurant”

Moxie's Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Moxie's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Harris Green
Description: Moxie's Grill & Bar Yates Street, a casual-fine dining restaurant in downtown Victoria with a delicious food menu, lounge and beautiful outdoor patio. Locally owned and operated.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good solid chain restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a very nice dinner at Moxie's in Victoria. We don't have this chain in the US, so it wasn't like a chain for us. We had an absolutely charming waiter. He even let us all sample one of the soups to see if it was too spicy for our sick friend back at the hotel. (It wasn't -- it was excellent!). All of us enjoyed our meals very much. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    51
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“our second visit”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

we slipped over for a light dinner for the third period of the canuck game last week. we were staying with family just across the street, so it is very handy. we came to watch the game and there is a small area by the bar that has seating to watch any sport on the 1 t.v. it was more than adequate, a good size and played so that we could hear the game. the restaurant is decorated tuscan style. there was jazz music playing in the main seating area. a large group was seated in that area, a few people @ the bar and others scattered around. i enjoyed my small sized caesar salad and the soup of the day. my husband's salad was also tasty. the service was good and the restaurant clean. we have sat outside on the patio in the late summer and it was very pleasant. there are heaters for the chill and an outdoor fireplace. and a number of plantings to lend a garden atmosphere. i look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best thing about it is the hours”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice veneer and, unlike most places in Victoria, one can get dinner after 8 pm but the food is uninspired, and has that distinctly "chainy" feel to it. Our meals (so generic, that I forget what I ordered) came fairly promptly, but were already cold, and the preparation and presentation lacked inspiration, enthusiasm, or any sort of pride. Service was good, and servers were polite and helpful, but it was all a bit dull. Although the booths are comfortable, it's not the place to take somebody you'd like to impress (unless they are easily impressed... perhaps it would be useful as a test, in fact?).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful place to eat”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Its a crapshoot when trying to find a good place to eat when you are from out of town. A local person recommended Moxie's Classic to us, and we were not disappointed. The atmophere was upscale yet friendly, and we were warmly greeted. The menu was full of nice variety, but also had plenty for our teens to like. The flavors were delicious, and we liked it so much that we came back for lunch the next day. Lunch was $10-15ish and dinner was $12 to 26 with lots to choose from. I am sad they don't have one of these where we are from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GScoutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Impressed!”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Way better than we expected!!! Service, food, decor all great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimmer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's Grill & Bar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Moxie's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing