We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local pub atmosphere”
Review of James Bay Inn Pub

James Bay Inn Pub
Ranked #79 of 1,188 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: James Bay
Description: Our goal is to provide you with delicious food in a relaxed, casual and pleasant atmosphere with friendly and cheerful service. We purchase only the freshest ingredients available in. We use zero trans-fat oil in our fryers, which is in turn recycled into fuel. Our soups, salads, gravies, chowders and most of our dressings are all homemade. Our food may take a little longer to prepare but we hope you will enjoy your experience. Bon Appétit Management & Staff
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great local pub atmosphere”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed the local ambiance, the food in the bar was not special but perfectly good. We liked enough to eat there twice in a four day visit. It reminds us of our local pub. Comfortable and homey.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    74
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced terrible food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My rare steak arrived cold in the middle. Sent it back and got the same steak back on the same dirty plate with a chunk of someone else's food on it. And it was still cold....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We he'd a good meal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

4 of us went for Sunday breakfast. My brother and his wife order skillets, they looked great and they said they tasted great. My wife and I ordered Eggs Benedict we ordered 1order soft and 1order medium. They both come hard, we returned them and they were remade. Mine were excellent but my wife order was so so. Our waitress was excellent in handling our situation she did a great job. We like the atmosphere, but if was unfortunate we had to return 2 breakfasts, but thank you to our waitress turning it positive event.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was cook’s night off?”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to the James Bay Inn Pub (and not the restaurant) because the driver of our tour bus recommended the PUB for dinner. We were very disappointed. My husband ordered the Ultimate Baron (sliced beef with onions, cheese, mushrooms and green peppers); it came sans any of the vegetables (and a scant tablespoon of cheese). When he told the waitress it wasn’t what he ordered, the manager came out to inspect his sandwich, agreed with him and offered to give him the price of “the upgrade” ($2 for the vegetables) off our bill. (The kitchen was out of vegetables? What? I don’t understand.)
I ordered the “House Special” crab cakes, supposedly with Ailoi, and a side of Cole slaw. The crab cakes came to the table at room temperature and had the consistency and taste of thawed-to-room-temperature Costco frozen party foods. There was no garlic in the Ailoi, none, nada, nil. They had squirted 8 squiggles of mayonnaise on the plate. (To see if I’d notice? Again, what was this all about?) The Cole slaw had a nice vinegar base (not cloy mayonnaise) but was OLD (at least two days, maybe more), so old that the cabbage was limp and turning gray.

Since other TripAdvisor folks seemed to have had better food than we got, perhaps we were just there on a bad night….but ….last night we had unpleasant food and a very poor experience there.

They will not get a second chance at us, fer sure, fer sure.

(Please check out my other reviews: I am not a picky reviewer and almost never give a bad review. The James Bay Inn Pub served us poor food and the response of the server and manager indicated to us that this we were not the first.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lmb”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

For anyone liking lamb, this is an excellent restaurant to try. Reasonable price and reasonable service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR352013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Bay Inn Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to James Bay Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing