We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“who would have known...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Bay Inn Pub

James Bay Inn Pub
Ranked #83 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion, Bar, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: James Bay
Description: Our goal is to provide you with delicious food in a relaxed, casual and pleasant atmosphere with friendly and cheerful service. We purchase only the freshest ingredients available in. We use zero trans-fat oil in our fryers, which is in turn recycled into fuel. Our soups, salads, gravies, chowders and most of our dressings are all homemade. Our food may take a little longer to prepare but we hope you will enjoy your experience. Bon Appétit Management & Staff
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“who would have known...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have always heard about the JBI from local radio station and finally decided to try it… (that and the fact I had a coupon for a 2nd entre for only $2). My wife and I were very pleased with our whole dining experience. We were surprised at the size of the restaurant first of all. The tables where spaced far enough apart and definitely did not get that cramped feeling. We each had an appetizer followed by a Rueben and Clubhouse. The portions where large enough to make us pack home our own doggy bag. I felt for the waitresses though because of the distances they had to travel from the floor to the bar to the kitchen all night. Though the restaurant was rather busy with diners, we still had our food delivered in a timely manner and was good and hot/fresh. Good food, fast service, and leftovers…what more would you want. Definitely worth a return trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    67
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the restaurant and the pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate here 2 different times and enjoyed our dinners each time. The waitresses are very personable and professional. The menu has a lot of variety and everything we ate was delicious. We highly recommend the house made desserts.
The pub had a comfortable atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chandra681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

ok so there we were riding around Victoria just to get the breeze in our knees when hunger befell us. I remembered that years ago the JBI pub was a great place to eat so we headed to the JBI for the restaurant side (we don't drink and ride). Well we got there and they were closed (daily between 2 - 4:30pm) so we walked about a bit as it is close to the inner harbour and the James Bay community hub. We came back still a tad early so we went upstairs into the hotel lobby and they had a huge jug of ice cold lemon water for guest so we grabbed this delightful resfreshment and waited til 4:30 and down we went. The staff was very pleasant and the place was spotless. Loved the art deco theme and the comfy seating. We ordered our lunch after first asking if the turkey and beef were real or pressed and to our delight the answer was fresh cooked in house. We thought prices were par for the part of town and expected the usual standard serving sizes. Well we couldn't have been more wrong. Not ony do they put out fabulous fresh foods but the portions were very generous so actually made the price an good deal. You don't want to be in a hurry when you come here tho, it is very laid back, staff is friendly and don't believe in hovering or rushing you. Some may think that inattentive but not me I hate feeling like the place wants you to get and she was there each and every time our cup needed filling. A nice relaxed experience. You should definately treat yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Throttlebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were craving fish and chips and had good ones here awhile back, so were hopeful for a repeat experience... unfortunately, it wasn't our night. The place was very quiet but every step took *forever* - waiting to receive menus (and they didn't give us the 3 course special menu), waiting for drink orders, waiting to receive drinks, waiting to take food orders... ETC. And I consider myself a patient person! And then, the fish was soggy and the chips clearly old. Disappointing for how much we paid (and how long we waited!). he service was fine, but I didn't get the sense anyone was very happy to be there. Not sure if we'll take a gamble on the JBI again...?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to harbor with great food and wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times. Food is always good. Servers are friendly and in no rush to get rid if you. Wines from the Okanagan valley are sooooo good.
Breakfasts are large portions and very fresh and tasty. Will eat here again when we visit Victoria again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmjhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Bay Inn Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to James Bay Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing