We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
Review of James Bay Inn Pub

James Bay Inn Pub
Ranked #79 of 1,188 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: James Bay
Description: Our goal is to provide you with delicious food in a relaxed, casual and pleasant atmosphere with friendly and cheerful service. We purchase only the freshest ingredients available in. We use zero trans-fat oil in our fryers, which is in turn recycled into fuel. Our soups, salads, gravies, chowders and most of our dressings are all homemade. Our food may take a little longer to prepare but we hope you will enjoy your experience. Bon Appétit Management & Staff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

They have really fixed up this place since the last time we were there. It is nicely lit and very comfortable. The service very good with friendly staff. We only had the soup but it was homemade and delicious. We would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SVict2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    74
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time, nice memories!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

An old building with lots of history, bright attractive restaurant, nice atmosphere with fireplace and uncrowded design - and very good food. Service was excellent and friendly. We had a family group of six adults, one from out-of-Province the rest from various parts of BC and some of us hadn't seen one another for 15 years, so it was a reunion with lots to talk and laugh about. Our server put up with us in good humour, taking the pictures we asked him to and not rushing us when we neglected to focus on the menu in a timely fashion. They also didn't make us feel we had to rush out, once our meal was done. We had reserved ahead, for lunch, and were given a big comfortable booth. We all loved this place, it really did contribute to the great time we had. And did I mention, Good Food :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandTimeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Without praise or blame”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The James Bay Inn Pub is a typical pub, not old neither brand new, just an anonymous one.
Food and beers are not so special, even if my oyster burger was fair enough.
Prices are good and there is a pool table if you want to do something while you are drinking.
Absolutely in the average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frantziska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Enjoyed a very very tasty breakfast here in this semi 50s style cafe. Located in the basement of the James Bay Inn it was very convenient. Staff very good and professional. Best breakfast burrito I've probably ever had - incredible crispy bacon, chorizo, fried peppers and onions, cheese -- very well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLifeis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Eggs Bennie ever”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Went there for a later breakfast. Nice place great atmosphere and great service. The food was excellent, we will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Bay Inn Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to James Bay Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing