We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back for brunch!”

ferris' oyster bar and grill
Reserve with OpenTable
ferris' oyster bar and grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,222 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Three restaurants in one location; the more casual downstairs Grill, serving burgers seafood & pastas, the upstairs Oysterbar serving local seafood & steaks with a Mediterranean flare, and the next door Perro Negro, serving Spanish tapas.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stopped in here for dinner. Had a fantastic meal with pretty large portions. The bar was a little on the slow side to get drinks out, but it was packed in there. The next morning we walked around trying to find breakfast, when I remembered seeing something about brunch on the menu. We figured well it was so good last night why not go back for breakfast. A choice we did not regret! Excellent non-greasy food, and the value/portions we couldn't have been happier. Can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwoOwls19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave c, Manager at ferris' oyster bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We like when people stay over for breakfast. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 598 of 883 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is not our usual food haunt, but we went in and tried. We must say that we were very surprised with the whole restaurant. A wonderful atmosphere with a small bar included. The tables were close, but not so that you felt overcrowded. We had the oyster taste platter (6 oysters cooked in various ways) as well as the vegetable tart. Our taste buds drooled when The food arrived and soon we were eating wonderfully prepared food. We have no complaints at all.
Some of the best and freshest food we have eaten.
When in Victoria BC try to stop in and see for yourself. It is better if you book before you go though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave c, Owner at ferris' oyster bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Glad you found us! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I used to hang out at Ferris' a lot in the early 90's. I now live in Calgary but visit Victoria during the summer. Ferris' is one of the few places that is still around and that hasn't changed much. The food is always great. Mind you, I've never actually had their oysters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cutecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave c, Manager at ferris' oyster bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for being a such a regular, it's nice to see old customers stop by when they are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm not exactly sure if the server either had an evil twin, or suffered from dissociative personality disorder but she was just a proper prickly pear to my date and I, and then was a very lovely and sweet to the next booth. The immediately adjacent booth. My chair and their chair were technically one piece of furniture, yet this ill-facing facet denied us the warmth so eagerly given to our neighbours.
The food was nice. The oysters were great. The wine, a fair selection of quality wineries. But the service in that moment of time will likely keep me from ever going back to Ferris' Oyster Bar.

1  Thank Deestroyer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave c, Owner at ferris' oyster bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience, we try for good friendly service all the time. Sorry we only batted .500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went for a light dinner early in the evening. The ambiance was casual, pleasant, and relaxing. Staff immediately tended to us and were friendly and attentive through the entire meal. We started with fresh oysters which were shucked at the bar in full view as we waited. Fresh and decent selection of west coas oysters all of which were tasty- and quite different fro east coast varieties. Second course was smoked fish plater- salmon and tuna VG while trout was a bit dry. Next steamed mussels and clams - perfectly cooked in a well prepared wine broth. Finally a VG crime brûlée flamed at the bar before delivery to our table. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tyrrel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave c, Owner at ferris' oyster bar and grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks! We're happy you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ferris' oyster bar and grill also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to ferris' oyster bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing