We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Victoria”

Ebizo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #110 of 1,188 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Sushi in Victoria”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is my goto place for high quality sushi in Victoria. Only twice have I ever had better sushi in my life, and those were far more expensive than Ebizo.
The place is rather small, so make a reservation a couple hours ahead of time. The staff is super friendly.
Try the agadashi tofu, the spicy tuna avocado, and the sashimi. But, seriously, you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. Even the regular salmon and tuna nigiri are so good that you can save a few dollars and just get those to fill up, and one or two things a little fancier to satisfy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    55
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hands down best sushi in Victoria”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ebizo absolutely serves the freshest sushi in Victoria. It is small inside and always busy so I definitely suggest making a reservation. My favourites are the tuna negitoro sashimi, the spicy salmon roll and the beef tataki. All the food is excellent. Service is great as well. I dine at Ebizo at least twice per month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Satisfying and tasty sushi”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Small and understated place with an unmemorable interior. The sushi was excellent - the sushi rolls had more fish inside them than what we are used to, so they were very satisfying. The menu has a nice variety of options. The wasabi was super spicy, which we loved! We'd eat there again, keeping in mind that the kitchen closes at 8.45pm!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dannilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average, forgettable Japanese in the heart of Victoria’s inner harbor area.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were looking for a Japanese restaurant in the inner harbor area and this was the first place we found. This is a tiny restaurant, with about 8-10 tables, and then a small sushi bar that sat about another 8 people. Some of the tables were uncomfortably close to each other (i.e. don’t go here if you have a large party of 4 or more, or want a semi-private conversation). The prices seemed decent fairly inexpensive for a restaurant in this area. I ordered the New York steak teriyaki set, which was a NY strip with a small side of vegetables, rice, and a bowl of miso soup. The steak itself was OK, and not cooked to the way I had ordered it. Both my wife and I thought the miso soup was too salty, though she said she enjoyed her salmon donburi. Service was average or below average. The waitress didn’t seem to care too much about the customers (my glass of water was left unfilled).

About the only thing this restaurant had going for it was its good location, just off Government street and in the heart of the walking area in downtown. Otherwise, I would definitely skip this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLAM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
313 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Eats.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We tried Ebizo at the recommendation of two different people that we met while walking around Victoria. We are sushi lovers and were very excited to try some place new. The restaurant is very small, and there were a good number of people there when we went for a late dinner. The best thing was that it was very inexpensive. The two of us ate for under $30.00. That is a really good deal in Victoria, which tends to be pricey. The sushi was good, but very basic. We are quite spoiled where we live; there are many many imaginative and inventive sushi restaurants. Ebizo had your plain, not-so-interesting california rolls, spicy salmon, spicy tuna, etc. We also tried the miso soup, which had a good amount of seaweed (a plus!), but was a bit too salty for our tastes. If you like sushi, and are not really picky about whether or not it is gourmet, AND you want to get a good deal for your money, this is a good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebizo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ebizo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing