We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Otter Grill

The Flying Otter Grill
Ranked #29 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Opened in 2009, the Flying Otter Grill brings to Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour a one-of-a-kind dockside dining experience. Located on the Harbour Air Seaplane docks, the Flying Otter offers diners amazing west-coast food, a relaxed atmosphere and incredible views - all with an eye to customer value! We're a great place for lunch or dinner & are open seven days a week from 11am on. Come check out our great food features and incredible daily specials! Visit us today to see why we're a Victoria Favourite!
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

On the advice of a coworkers we came here for a work lunch and it was quick. A nice day so the sun was shining in. Some diners chose the deck for the atmosphere. Great variety on the menu,
service was quick. Will be back when I am without time restraints, and will bring family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    336
    115
    34
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was one of my all time favorites - especially in summer when you can sit right out on the dock and watch all the activity in the Inner Harbour. Although the setting and the service have remained excellent, the quality of the food has gone down - as have the portions. Hoping they will fix this!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geminigemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Little Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to go there a second time when I stumbled upon it looking for another restaurant, which luckily, was closed. Small, intimate, overlooking the harbor, it was just a great treat to eat there. very attentive wait staff, and they genuinely seemed to LIKE what they're doing. And you MUST try the bag of cinnamon donuts! Fresh, warm, and to die for delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert06-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great spot to watch the boats and planes on the harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have bought coffee for fishing trips here and then I tried the soup and a beer both were enjoyable, nice atmosphere, good service, I will return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corvetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food here was wonderfully delicious, and eating right on the water is always a fun experience. Great service and atmosphere in this cute little grill.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Otter Grill also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Flying Otter Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing