We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices high, food uninspiring”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Saanich
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Saanich is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 1,189 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reynolds
Description: The Keg Steakhouse & Bar serves the finest cuts of succulent steak, aged for tenderness and grilled to perfection. Prime rib is a Keg specialty, slow roasted, hand carved and perfectly seasoned with special Keg spices. The restaurant also serves delicious seafood, memorable appetizers, crisp salads… and decadent desserts. A casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and up-scale bar setting where guests can enjoy an excellent wine list, signature Keg martinis, and fresh squeezed juice cocktails.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Prices high, food uninspiring”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I used to love going to the Keg back in the day when there was a big salad bar and the steak and lobster were served on wooden boards. I went back recently with a friend and was disappointed to find that the prices are now over the top and the food was no better, in fact not as good. Won't be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Viavaleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Website helps you pre-plan weight watcher points before you go”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would give the Keg full points for their website which has great nutritional info and allows you pre plan your meal if you are on weight watchers or another weigh loss program. This was a big help to me and I avoided blowing a weeks points in 1 night. It is shocking to see the fat content of some desserts! I agree with a recent reviewer that the quality does seem to be declining.We visited the Quadra St location and none of us 4 raved about the food. Granted it was during the "dine around Victoria" promotion and the restaurant was very busy. Bring a flashlight so you can read the menu. The place is dark but so packed and noisey so it is not a romantic place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loud, and dark, but yummy as usual”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i don't know if it's just me, but I find this Keg very loud. We were there for a birthday dinner in a large group, and had trouble hearing each other or the waiter. The light was so dim we could bearly read the menu - i know it's 'romantic' but honestly, are you trying to hide the fact the prices are so high!? baked shrimp was fabulous! Ceasar salad a little small, but to die for.
ps. I think every waiter was a superhero in disquise... great eye candy!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cait_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A chain, but a good chain”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Quality and prices are very good; the food is well presented and if anything a little too generous. Surprisingly good and very well organized for coupl;es or groups and well situated downtown.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Declining Quality, Increasingly Fake Service”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I eat here a few times a year, and have been coming here for years. And, while the food at The Keg has always been above average to very good (depending on how hungry you are, what time you eat there, and what you order), we've noticed that the quality has declined over the past year and a bit and continues to deteriorate. Someone at the top is not paying attention at this location, unfortunately.

For example, the steaks only come out cooked correct (i.e., cooked medium) about 50% of the time, which is ironic because you’d think a "steakhouse" would have the basics of cooking steak down to an art. The other items like calamari, crab cakes, bread, asparagus, cheese bread, salad, and so forth are consistently good, however. I usually order lobster tails because they're one of the more consistently prepared items on the menu. Overall, the food is still solid, but it's coming out impressive less and less these days.

The front desk service is always friendly, genuine and helpful. They'll show you to your table quickly and reservations are recommended unless you want to spend some time in the lounge (which is actually a pretty chill place to hang out, nothing wrong with it). The server staff, for some odd reason, all communicates with you in this really weird, fake-ish kind of tone and delivery. Kind of like some cheesy salesperson in the 1950s or something. It's irritating, and I really wish management and The Keg executives would put a stop to this. Jesus, just be genuine and talk to your patrons like you would in a normal conversation. Also, if we don't order any booze with our meal (we can't, because my wife is pregnant and I'm on a diet), don't scowl when you turn your head from us. Seriously unprofessional.

The atmosphere is nice, although a bit dark for my liking. But, the restaurant here is super cool with its brick walls and dark wood. Noise level is fine, although couples who decide to get into a fight better be aware that everyone else can probably here you. I got to listen to a guy berate his poor girlfriend at the table across from ours for over an hour! So, all I'm saying is, sound travels.

I would not recommend this location until they get their act together.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Saanich also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Saanich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing