We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment”
Review of Q at The Empress

Q at The Empress
Reserve with OpenTable
Q at The Empress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,222 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $30 - $65
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Q at the Empress, located in the most storied room in Victoria, is a must-visit culinary experience. The Pacific Northwest cuisine is based on regional ingredients, partnerships with local farmers and artisans, and utilizes our own chef’s herb and vegetable garden to ensure a fresh and unique meal. The wine list celebrates an excellent selection of the best of the Pacific Northwest and top vintages from around the globe. Relax with the best views in the city on our harbour facing Veranda. Steeped in the history of the Fairmont Empress but with a modern feel, Q at the Empress is the place to be on Vancouver Island. Our carefully curated menu features sustainably sourced seafood, traditionally raised meats and a wide variety of artisanal offerings.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife often cooks tenderloin steaks. I cannot remember a bad one! (two minutes one side - and three the other and they are perfect). We ordered tenderloin steaks at the Empress Main dining room. They were terrible. Tough -and in no way resembling tenderloins. We complained to the
Chef and he promised to " take a look at them!" That was all.

We will never eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank asingletonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, Manager at Q at The Empress, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Victoria

I am so sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience in the Empress Room recently! I am terribly sorry that you had tough tenderloins, I can only imagine what a disappointment that would be! Additionally, I would like to apologize for the fact that even when you brought this issue to our attention we did not deal with it properly. I have tried to send you a private message as well as I would like to learn more about your experience, but your profile states that your are not accepting messaged. if you're so willing, I would welcome the opportunity to hear from you so that we can rectify this situation for you and ensure that something like this never happens again. I can be reached at nathan.pearce@fairmont.com

Sincerely,
Nathan Pearce
Food & Beverage Director
The Fairmont Empress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 581 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great venue. Nice staff. Overpriced high tea. Sandwiches and scones were dry . $60 pp I would have expected a bit better.

2  Thank Erica3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amazing! What a beautiful property absolutely fabulous. Today was 80 degrees and the sky was so blue! Overlooking the Marina, seaplanes and Parliament. Have to admit the Strawberry shortcake dessert was loads of strawberry gel and no strawberries. The whipped cream was heavenly! How about that Prosecco at $20.00 a glass. Our server was a delight. Ok, should you stop in? Yes, absolutely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DJMinBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food and service were excellent. We had the Chateaubriand, and it is an experience in and of itself. Perfect service

Thank Ham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

An thoroughly tasty lunch was provided in a 1900's setting! The pan-seared sable fish with warm Niçoise salad and tomato-olive dressing was done well and satisfying. The maple-glazed chicken breast in lemon and thyme chicken au jus brought forth smiles. Definitely a place to visit. Be sure to allow time to walk around and to visit the Parliament Building afterwards. Well done!

Thank Morris-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, Manager at Q at The Empress, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Madison, Wisconsin

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Empress Room on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. We work very hard every day to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel with a wonderful memory. Thank you so much for your feedback and we truly hope that your travels bring you back to us soon.
Sincerely,
Nathan Pearce
Food & Beverage Director
The Fairmont Empress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q at The Empress also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Q at The Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing