We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic”

Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #410 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

On our recent vacation in Victoria my wife insisted that we eat at Don Mee's which was a restaurant that her parents took her to many times when she was a young girl (50+ years ago). She had also returned to Victoria with her sisters about 5 years ago to visit their childhood stomping grounds and ate at Don Mee's. All of that being said, our dinner experience was at best average. We shared the dinner for two as we weren't familiar with many of the dishes in their extensive menu. The waiter was friendly and it didn't take long to serve the food. I've had much better Chinese food at one of our local Chinese food restaurants in Langley. I was surprised by how busy they were and the number of Asians who ate there. Perhaps had we ordered alacarte our experience would have been different.
The decor was a throwback to the 50's and needed a little help. We would likely try one of the other Chinese seafood restaurants in the area next time we're in Victoria.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DonCar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    127
    73
    37
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slow service and way too salty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stopped in to get an order of beef and broccoli for carryout one evening. The restaurant was not busy but it took more than 15 minutes to get the order. The broccoli was so salty I wound up throwing most of the order away. The order seemed pricey at $15.95. I won't be going there again and was disappointed since it was in Chinatown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food...but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have eaten at Don Mees too many times to count and have always enjoyed the food. The prices are fair and consistant with other dim sum places. The service seems to be really hit and miss! Not sure why but it is consistanty inconsistant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdrambuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't try it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had gone to Don Mee in 2001 and loved it. We had some of the best Dim Sum we had had since San Francisco. Now in 2014, it was not good. I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and we decided to go to The Dynasty. Upon arriving, we found the Dynasty closed on Tuesdays. So we thought it could be that bad...it was. The food was bland. All the dim sum tasted the same, it was like a Chinese Restaurant Americanized as it was in the 1960's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiberarts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Over rated and over priced. Food is so so, my husband and I ordered a couple of entrees and it took half an hour for good to come. Then they got the order wrong and when we asked for the bill, we were ignored. Very poor service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 007junebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing