We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good But Not Spectacular”

Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #412 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good But Not Spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We'd heard good things about Don Mee but came away feeling it was really only average. It's a walk-up location that opens into a nearly banquet hall sized space that reminded me, favorably, of restaurants I visited in China years ago. We were having an early dinner, so the service was quite prompt and efficient. We ordered the Duck Lo Hon Style and the 5-Spice Spareribs. It was "different" to have to order, and buy, rice as a separate item. Although that's customary in China, it's uncommon in the US. The duck was quite good, served over a bed of mushrooms, fresh baby bok choy and other vegetables; not greasy and very tender. The "spareribs" were actually sliced pork chops, with a crisp batter, and fried; kind of tough and served without any vegetables. Portions were large, so we had a doggy bag prepared. In just a few blocks, we noticed the bag was dripping, probably the gravy from the duck. We had to toss the leftovers, as we were going in and out of stores. So much for the midnight snack.... To sum up, we'll probably try some other Chinese restaurants (several in the area) the next time we're in Victoria.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    127
    73
    37
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for the fresh crab.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to Don Mee's on a Thur nite about 6:30 pm. Not very busy... maybe 6 other fairly large (4 or more) tables. Seated quickly. If dining there it is good to remember to order each course as needed because like most Chinese restaurants they will bring all the courses at once (even if you ask them not too) and have not adopted the concept of appetizer followed by main course. So in other words don't order your entrees until the appies arrive. Knowing this we had no problems. Had oysters on the half shell.. the black bean ones were great.. the green onion ginger ones weren't as good as I remember.. the ginger didn't taste fresh sliced.. .. had them better before. Also ordered the deep fried salt and pepper squid.. Awesome.. very crisp.. squid very tender.. no grease and perfectly seasoned.

Main course was 2 kinds of Dungeness crab.. presented to us live so that we could observe the size and freshness .. they were huge and lively. Had one steamed and then tossed in creamy butter sauce.. don't know what the seasoning was.. but it was terrific, the flavours were balanced and plate licking good. The other crab was deep fried with a chili pepper garlic onion and bell pepper confetti... FABULOUS.. They brought all the pre packaged hand wipes and a big stack of napkins.. but with this great crab and copious sauce finger bowls would have been perfect. We had sauce and spices from ear to ear..


Service varied..as we had 3 servers helping us and were never sure who the main server was not even when the bill was presented. The best servers at Don Mee's in my opinion are the females.. very friendly, cordial and sincere.
All servers could use a training course for consistency in methods, timing, mis en place and mixology.

Don Mee's has never let me down.. always rated in my opinion in the high 80's to mid 90's.

I might had buckets to catch drips underneath. The bridled horse heads on the bathroom tiles in the men's have to go as well.

I will be going back there 5 or more times this year. Great place to take out of towners or prairie folk when visiting.

Comments on the bar scene are irrelevant and no applicable here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bahb-Lahblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a late dinner on a Friday evening (8:30 ish). We decided to order the dinner for two to get some variety and the offerings sounded tasty. We are big fans of lettuce wraps and this was the first dish to be served. We were not disappointed. Before we could finish the lettuce wraps, our won ton soup arrived, so thinking we should best have the soup while it was hot, we abandoned the lettuce wraps and ate our soup. It was not at all hot which was disappointing. Before we could even finish the soup, the entrees started to arrive - vegetables in black bean sauce with shrimp, chow mein noodles, ginger fried beef, lemon chicken and rice. The only thing hot was the rice! Everything else was only warm at best.

We really felt that we were being rushed and then realized that the reason that everything was being served so quickly was because it was all made ahead of time and simply needed dishing up. So, lesson learned, don't order the pre-set menus as they will not likely be prepared fresh for you. After we provided feedback to the waiter, compensation for a free drink or dessert was offered but by then, we were no longer interested. However, a complementary dessert did arrive as we were putting our coats on, so we obliged.

Overall, a very disappointing experience. We will not be back anytime too soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonniegirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tribute to my friend Stephen Lam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have lost Stephen but his dream of traditional Chinese cuisine is still alive. The best dim sum in Victoria.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Food,service,and atmosphere were all great. We are always pleased with our meals great selection the service is always very helpful when ordering. Restaurant needs a little updating. Pricey about $30 per person but always good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaceyBfromQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Don Mee Chinese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing