We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexperienced Staff”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #295 of 1,197 Restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Burnside
Lithia, FL
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Inexperienced Staff”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I ordered the Sante Fe skillet. It was too dry and seemed a bit over cooked. The cooks looked like teenagers. The waitress was pleasant but only offered to refill my drink minutes before I was ready to leave.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    39
    31
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Late Night is Best”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Denny's on Douglas is open 24 hours a day.
They serve Denny's food which is fine. It is not fancy; it is a Denny's. But they serve a pretty good burger and breakfast is also very OK.
If you want classy go to Pags but go early because they close at nine. If it is two in the morning and you crave a plate of fried eggs and bacon . . . go to Denny's.
Just an aside, there is a waitress on the late shift who looks just like the actress Elizabeth Shue. And she is also an excellent server. Mind you I saw Adventures in Babysitting a while ago and it was so bad that I suppose this could be her new career.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“STINKING!!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been to alot of the Denny's restaurants throughout the States and Canada. This by far was the worse. When we arrived in at the 1st, we were greeted by a member of staff who was stinking of a really bad body odour problem (Chris was his name). We should have walked back out to be honest, but we were starving. After I ordered my food I went into the toilet and it was filty. The staff should have been cleaning this place and themselves. The floors were very dirty as well. Afterwards we could see our food sitting on the counter for at least 5 minutes. I actually went up and asked should I get our food. Our server went missing leaving our food to go cold. If I was the owner or manger I would be sorting out the staff and restaurant as its really bad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanrowe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bay, BC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“how do you screw up such basic fare?”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Denny's should be doing basic comfort food well. It's not a big job and it's not an overwhelming job, and yet they fail to deliver a product that makes my mouth water. Can't be bothered returning.

Helpful?
Thank Deedee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, a little overpriced”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Food tasted great, but I could have liked a better price. It was really busy when we entered, turned out to seem more of like a fast food joint where all the servers were already busy with trying to clean tables. Food took long to arrive at our table. The servers were not very welcoming, mainly as of being understaffed and rushed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amar_and_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing