We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic clam chowder”

Blue Crab Seafood House
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Crab Seafood House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,188 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: James Bay
Cross street: Montreal Street
Description: Frommer's International Guide calls the Blue Crab Seafood House, the "best seafood spot in Victoria". Blue Crab Seafood House has earned a reputation for excellence in seafood and West Coast Cuisine. The daily specials take advantage of the local catches for the freshest of ingredients. With an Ocean View from every table that is impossible to beat! Featuring Local Dungeness Crab & Giant King Crab. Very Celiac Friendly. Winner of the 2005 People's Choice Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence in 2003 to 2012, the Blue Crab Seafood House offers a wide selection of Vancouver Island, BC, Pacific Northwest, and new world wines, including a selection of both favourites and hard to find wines. The lounge offers a casual atmosphere to go along with its menu. Local favourites include Vancouver Island Tuna Tacos, Halibut Fish & Chips & Thai Fish Pot.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic clam chowder”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had the clam chowder a couple time here, while staying in the hotel. They were also having Crab Fest while we were here. The service, and food was amazing, a definite must while in Victoria.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrNurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Crab Seafood House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello guest from Oregon,

Firstly thank you for staying with us at The Coast Harbourside Hotel & Marina. We are so pleased that you found our clam chowder to be "Fantastic". As I have said many times this chowder recipe has been slowly evolving over the past 22 years with hundreds of Chefs adding their own uniqueness along the way. We are so proud of our history and look forward to pushing our limits for years to come.

Kind regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    238
    95
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've eaten at the Blue Crab 3 times now and every time the seafood is fantastic, the service is friendly and attentive, and the view is great! I also highly recommend the Blue Crab Caesar, which comes with a huge delicious prawn, and is amazing! This will always be a DO when I visit Victoria!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Crab Seafood House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Greetings Terri,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a fantastic review for The Blue Crab on Trip Advisor. I am also a big fan of The Blue Crab Caesar. With double the punch, horseradish and a freshly seared tiger prawn on top it is a guest favourite. Hope the next time you visit happens to fall on a Saturday. They and all of the rest of our 2oz feature cocktails are on special for $6.95.

Kind regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a package deal with Victoria Clipper and stayed at the Coast Harborside Hotel. The restaurant in the hotel was recommended by a local on our ferry. It was very good. We were seated by a window with nice fews and the ambiance was just right.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swm4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Crab Seafood House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest from CA,

Thank you for choosing The Coast Harbourside Hotel on your most recent visit to Victoria. How lovely that you were referred to us by one of our locals. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and hope to host you again should you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Warm regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I wanted a place to get king crab. Our hotel recommended this place. We were very disappointed in the food and service. We came to Victoria from south Florida expecting good northwest seafood but I've had better and fresher Alaskan king crab at Red Lobster in Florida than we had at this place. Our waitress had no personality, couldn't recommend anything and never even asked how we liked our meals when giving us our check. For the amount we paid I'd expect more. Couldn't pay me to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Crab Seafood House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Steve,

I would like to sincerely apologize that your evening did not live up to the high standards that we set for ourselves. We want each and every guest to feel the value, quality and (most importantly) love that we put into our work. Food, drink and good company is a business we are all very proud to be in. It truly hurts when we get it wrong.

As of late we have starting cutting the knuckles off our King Crabs in an attempt to make it easier and to improve the quality for our guests. I have sent you a private message and certainly hope that we have the opportunity to show you what we are capable of and known for.

Please feel free to contact me anytime
h.power@coasthotels.com

Kind regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very busy place”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had 8pm reservation and got seated at 8:20. They had some special event and were overwhelmed. The service was questionable at best and while there were some tables empty, guest were waiting. Maybe they just should have more help on a night like this. The food was very good, I had the crab in chili sauce and my wife the dungeness crab and both dishes were very good. The crab bisque was average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Crab Seafood House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Greetings Laddiez,

Thank you for finding us on Trip Advisor and writing a review for our restaurant. It is true that our Annual Crabfest kept us on our toes. It was a huge success and we look forward to learning from this experience and making next year even better. The chili sauce that we were dunking our Crab in was very well received by our guests. I am happy to hear that you were also a fan. I hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Crab Seafood House also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue Crab Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing