We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Azuma Sushi

Azuma Sushi
Ranked #343 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
bc, canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A group of 7 (3 couples and a child) ate lunch there this weekend. I thought the service was good and the food acceptable. My husband chose a bento box special which he really enjoyed. I'm older and we sat in a large booth which I found very uncomfortable for my back. Also although we asked for separate bills, I wasn't impressed to see a 15% tip added automatically to the bill. I would probably choose one of the many other restaurants in the area the next time I'm downtown..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    32
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Bc
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expansions don't always mean better!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My girls and I went for a birthday dinner and decided on Azuma because they were open later.
We had some sushi, soup and bento boxes. The ebi and tamago was ok but didn't seem as fresh as they use to make. We found the katsu chicken portions small and somewhat dry. We've been to this restaurant many times years ago before the expansion and noted the quality use to be much better. The service was prompt and friendly. The atmosphere was not as quaint as it once was before the expansion. I have been to better Japanese restaurants and am not in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EED1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Mediocre”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Having heard good reviews about Azuma Sushi, my sister and I were looking forward to some great sushi, downtown. We ordered the deep fried scallop and spring rolls for appetizers - they were obviously pre-cooked and frozen and were just terrible. The California roll and dynamite roll were ordinary and we commented we get better Cali rolls from our local supermarket. I had a tobiko roll and a spicy salmon roll and both were way below the caliber of my regular sushi restaurant. I think the most important attribute in a sushi restaurant is fresh fish, freshly assembled and we did not get this at Azumi. The service was ok, servers pleasant. Disappointing experience, would definitely not recommend, nor will we be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent Japanese Fare and Sush Azumawesome!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great lunch spot with fantastic sushi and Japanese food. Bento box lunch is great value too! Teriyaki beef is one of my faves. Has the best Japanese rice sauce my wife and I have ever had. Sunomono salad is always great as is the miso soup. I have never had a bad experience here. Service is also excellent and food is served promptly. Azumawesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mah . . no big deal”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went with a friend and tried the chicken teriyaki soup.
The soup base was really great, noodles average but the chicken was not marinated and just cheap probably frozen pre cut breast pieces.

The California rolls were OK (average)
Spicy Salmon Sashimi came with a spicy mayo, it was pretty tame and bland

With so many great sushi places around these guys really do have to step up their game a bit

$40 bill for two with no drinks

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azuma Sushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Azuma Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing