We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good cup of tea”

Abkhazi Garden Afternoon Tea
Ranked #8 of 90 Coffee & Tea in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gonzales
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were with a group, and had a set afternoon tea of two scones (one cheese, one raisin) with cream and jam, and a choice of black or herbal tea, all for about $10. The scones were both good, as was the tea. They have a different choice of tea daily, I gather. I liked having real teacups and teapot. The room is pleasant, and not noisy even though it was fairly full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the afternoon tea service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tea service at Abkhazi Garden should be on your list of afternoon tea venues in Victoria! Not only do you get a quality selection of tea pastries at less than half the price of the Empress Hotel, but you can enjoy the beauty of a garden residence built by a Russian princess with ties to China. Thanks to the Land Conservancy, this Garden retains the love Princess Abkhazi put into her life's last residence. Her Royal Abkhazi tea blend is accurately described in the menu. As someone who appreciates straight teas but not many tea blends, I can say she had a nice palate in picking what teas to blend. When I was there, a local family who lived just a couple of blocks away was also enjoying tea. A great contributor to the arts of gardening, afternoon tea, and the surrounding neighborhood. Go there as a side trip from the Scenic Marine Drive. Make a reservation online and get a discount to the garden admission.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gongfucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Counterfeit English Teahouse - Rip Off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Soup had zero flavor. Substandard subway type sandwich. One miniature stale cookie the size of an oreo per person.

One toilet for 30 customers in the restaurant plus staff not including those touring the garden. This would make for a bad monty python skit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dwc108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“LOVELY SPOT FOR 'T'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had been for 'T' here some years ago and it was not very good at all. This time is was very nice indeed. I especially liked the tea 'Moonlight' (I think it was) so much that I drank several pots of it.
The food tray was lovely little sandwiches, scones and sweets....just enough. It was very peaceful and relaxing sitting by the window and enjoying the garden scene.
We came by car and missed the entrance on two pass bys. When we finally found the entrance it did have 'flags' there, but they might consider making better, clearer signage to the gardens. I know this is located in a residential area and that it may not be possible.
As a confirmed going out for T person, and having been at several other places in Victoria for T over the years, including the Empress, I would highly recommend that you check the Abkhazi T room out. I don't think that you will be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea in Victoria hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Overall, this was a delightful experience. Great service despite the fact that the server had to take care of so many customers, great tea sandwiches, scones with real clotted cream, Royal Abkhazi tea was delicious. The view of the garden is tranquil and calming, just what was needed. The tearoom decor is light and airy and spring-like (not dark and heavy and Victorian). The only thing I would change is that they should put some interesting vintage teacups on the tables set for two, not just on the tables set for four or more. The history of the house, which includes a love story of two people separated during World War 2, is fascinating. In Victoria, I also had afternoon tea at the Empress Hotel, James Bay Tea Room, and Murchie's, but the Abkhazi experience was far and away the best. Also visited the garden ($12 for entrance to the garden, which is separate from afternoon tea) and was given a fascinating synopsis of the story of the Prince and Princess Abkhazi by a botanist who works as a volunteer there. This place is just a 15-minute bus ride from downtown Victoria.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abkhazi Garden Afternoon Tea also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Abkhazi Garden Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing