We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is terrible!”
Review of Turtle Hostel

Turtle Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Hostel
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is terrible!”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This place is terrible, where do I begin? It all started when we got there, or tried to get there. It seemed the door was locked, and nobody would open the door for us?

When we got in, the next hurdle was the elderly Asian couple that operates the place. They have such terrible english, that at most times I was left just nodding and saying yes, becuiase I was too polite to ask them to repeat themselves a forth time (Silver Mug = Super Market?!?).

Next, they were ready to give our room away, even though we booked online with Credit Card. They moved the other peoples bags out of our rooms, and then told us we had to pay more than the advertized price? (okay, only $2, but why was it more?). Bonus: they wouldn't take credit cards, so we had to give them all the cash we had.

Then came the $10 cash deposit for a key to our room, and the front door? Why was that never mentioned before?

After that was the tutorial on how to open the door.... key in, half out, lift knob up, turn key left, reverse all step to extract key?!?

Then there was the room itself. We reserved the private 1 bed 2 person room. It was much smaller than the pictures (did they use a fish eye lens?), the bed was uncomfortable, and the sheets were dirty. there were little hairs all over the sheets (unwashed?) and my girlfriend got bit by something in the night?
The room was right beside the main door, with an annoying coconut door chime. It was well within the radius of annying voices from the kitchen/common area, as I beleive all the rooms in this hostel are : ( Bonus: the old Asian man who run the place coughed all night, keeping us awake.

In summary, "worst hostel ever", and I've stayed in a lot.
I would have rather gave my $30 to a homeless guy and spooned him while sharing his blanket.

Do NOT stay here, and please spread the word.
Don't do what we did, and spread the word.

Thanks.

P.S. Victoria is a lovely town!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe_ohnson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    13
    7
    40
See reviews for
1
18
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Average place...Managed by an elederly couple it took me sometime to get in as the main door is locked and one has to ring the bell about 33 dollars it was very small had a T.v but again not much was expected from the place. It had kitchen which was the common area as well.Free wifi and they have a common computer for those who dont have laptops. No problem faced as such.Congested and small place..The owners are helpfull I asked them about the discount to the Nat geo Imax theatre and they gave me some coupons for it. Not highly recommened take it as a last option as the HI din't have any beds left so I had to settle for this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stay here if you like:
-bickering horrible onsite owner/operator staff (including loud morning ablutions and evacuations)
-mice
-dirty kitchens, bathrooms
-byzantine rules and regulations
-curfews, pseudo-mother/landlady-types
-overcrowded rooms, non-existent common areas
-oh....and marathon check-in requirements/times

Horrible place.....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryanbgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I've been trying to book a room with the Turtle Hostel but haven't been able to get it confirmed so have decided to cancel it. I booked it through their website (I should have booked it here) but didn't get a confirmation from them after two weeks (their website said they would respond within 48hours). So I emailed them. No response from that so I rang and was told that it should be fine and that I'd receive confirmation via email. So I emailed my details again, but still no response 5 days later, so have decided to book elsewhere.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nathandmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Stayed at this hostel for one night while in Victoria (beautiful city). It seemed a bit disorganised when we were checking in. The manager's English is not great - she seemed confused that there was another girl checking in around the same time as us who was a totally different booking.

The actual hostel is fairly nice. An effort has been made with the decor. The bedrooms could do with a bit of an airing and the bathroom could be cleaner.

However, everyone was really friendly and seemed to be enjoying their stay.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Manager
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JRALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We had booked this hostel online and confirmed by phone. When we arrived at the hostel (5pm) they had rented our room and appeared amused that we had nowhere to stay. They tried to tell us that we had not confirmed. There are multiple websites from which you can book this hostel and they do not seem to take this into account.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank marieantoinette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2008

What I really liked about the Turtle Hostel was that it was a clean and quite place to stay. The rates were extremely reasonable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location was great within walking distance of everything, but just enough off the beaten track, so that you discover exciting things.

An excellent coffee shop across the road and a lovely market a block away.

I would definitely recommend this to Budget travelers.

  • Liked — Clean and Quiet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Well_Travelled72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Hostel

Property: Turtle Hostel
Address: 1608 Quadra St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Turtle Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing