We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HALF-WAY HOUSE NOT A HOSTEL!!!”
Review of Turtle Hostel

Turtle Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Hostel
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is not somewhere you would want to stay if you're travelling, unless you want to hang out with the local drug addicts or alcoholics!
No ventilation in the rooms which means you can barely breathe and the room stinks. Bathrooms and kitchen were disgusting! We ended up paying to eat out because we didnt want to cook in the kitchen...
Security is non-existant. Although the doors are locked its not the people outside you want to be kept safe from its the people living there!! The batty landlady came into our (private!) room late at night without permission (while we were in bed!)... Very suspicious as she didn't seem to have any reason to come in other than to snoop around our things!!
Most of the other guests seem to be long-term residents of the hostel who were old alcoholics, druggies or homeless! They were very intimidating and seemed very unstable. One guy kicked off while we were there, shouting at everyone and getting aggressive. Were time when we wouldn't want to go out of the room alone!
Definitely would not recommend this hostel to any travellers and DEFINITELY NOT families! Its worth paying the extra money for somewhere safer and more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here get a private room. But would seriously not recommend - i would have r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anneka1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with 4 friends in a private 4 bed dorm, the bunk beds were incredibly squeaky and the room had no ventillation making it impossible to sleep. The kitchen and bathroomns were filthy. The owner randomly entered our room for no reason making us very suspicious of her. The location was good but splash out extra for a better hostel as it will definately improve your stay. The hostel was full of alcoholics which was very intimidating and we didnt feel safe even going to the kitchen on our own- whilst cooking pasta we had to avoid other occupants adding lard to it, afterwhich they got very annoyed at us for not taking it. Basically do not stay here if you want a nice trip in Victoria. The only good thing was it was cheap- about £12 a night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here- pay more for a different hostel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mhpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

It is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. The rooms and bathrooms are everything else than clean, the owner was unfriendly never responded in time, just do NOT stay at this hostel! We were 7 travellers in a group staying at this hostel in 2010.

Room Tip: Stay at another hostel.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MooseScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you want to enjoy beautiful Victoria don't stay here. The owners are rude and just want your money. They seem to have invented a fee for everything so even though it's the cheapest hostel in Victoria- the fees make it just as expensive. The owner wouldn't even let us store our bags on our final day so we could walk around without a $2 charge and it was just a tiny over night bag!!! Not only that but their English is terrible so it is very frustrating trying to make them see sense in their money-hungry madness.
As for the rooms, there were holes in the wall, the beds were tiny and the mattresses were covered in vinyl which are so loud and sleep disturbing!
Do yourself a favour and pay the extra $5 or whatever it is to stay at another hostel- it will prevent you plotting murder later on.

Room Tip: Call another hostel
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dune707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a horrible place. The location is excellent but it's dirty, the lady in the office is rude, my bed was too small, the bathrooms are gross and it really spoiled my three days in Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank E17fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The bath and the kitchen are very dirty in this Hostel - nasty!! The cabinets in the kitchen are full of dirt and dust, so we didnt want to use them. There is no one, who makes clean regular.
The owners are very curious and the beds need to be changed!!!!!!
Better you search for another Hostel in Victoria!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smp147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here with 2 male friends for one night. Was originally told they had no room for a female but was then given a bunk in the room with my friends which was no problem for any of us. Check in was a nightmare with much confusion about key deposit and money. The common area was crammped and occupied by a lot of degenerate looking sorts. Fortunately we didn't really spend much time here as we got to the room late after hitting the pubs, but there was no sleep to be had. The smell in the room was unbearable even with the windows open. Everything was filthy. We all opted to skip bathing the next day and I ended up using the restroom in McDonalds because it was far cleaner. Would have been better off sleeping on the street for a night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank galangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Hostel

Address: 1608 Quadra St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range: $27 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Turtle Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turtle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing