We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite activities in BC!”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We got to go out on an excursion with Jeff and Derek. They were amazing- so knowledgable and very friendly. Our tour was just over 4 hours we saw many killer whales seals and sea lions, we also had an awesome boat ride on the pacific.
This company does great work- you know when you meet them that they are passionate about the wildlife and their conservation and they work hard to show you as much as possible but always with the whales best interest at heart. Go with this company you will not regret it!

Thank BM619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

You are absolutely right, its the passion each and every person at Eagle has for not only the whales but in striving to be the best that keeps us the top rated whale watching company in Victoria. As you were able to see and hear, we are very concerned about sustainability and at every opportunity we try to instill on all our passengers the same feeling and understanding for the environment. Thank you for booking with Eagle Wing, we know you had a choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"humpback whales"
in 192 reviews
"whale watching tour"
in 178 reviews
"killer whales"
in 162 reviews
"captain chris"
in 40 reviews
"open boat"
in 52 reviews
"other companies"
in 58 reviews
"transient orcas"
in 65 reviews
"these guys"
in 67 reviews
"speed boat"
in 32 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 23 reviews
"covered boat"
in 51 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 69 reviews
"race rocks"
in 51 reviews
"great trip"
in 73 reviews
"j pod"
in 44 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 25 reviews
"four hours"
in 32 reviews
Filter

1,706 - 1,710 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The captain stayed out and extra 90 minutes. Not because we didnt see anything but because we had found a pod of Transit Orcas and everyone was enjoying the view so much.

We also saw humpback whales.

They have smaller boats that allow a more personal experience and also can travel further.

Both crew members where some form of marine biologist. Extremely knowledgable and passionate.

Thank karlr34467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Our captains will always go the extra if it means having the opportunity to stay with the whales a little longer because we all know that is what you came for. Thank you for your very generous words and hope you enjoyed you time not only on the tour but while visiting Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went on the 9:00 AM tour on the Serengeti. It was an extremely foggy morning with very low visibility and, as yet, no one had located any whales. Our captain (sorry, name escapes me...Tom?) made the best of the situation by taking us to several areas to look at other wildlife until the fog lifted. We were able to see harbor seals, Stellar sea lions and California sea lions as well as bald eagles and many seabirds. We really enjoyed seeing (and hearing and smelling!) the seals/sea lions; it was one of the highlights of our trip. OK...maybe we didn't enjoy the smell but it's all part of the real experience!
Our captain tried very hard to find whales but, unfortunately, the fog just never lifted enough. The captain was sincerely apologetic. Eagle Wing honored their whale guarantee and we were able to get a spot on another trip later that day. For what it's worth, we would go on another tour just to see the seals and other wildlife. We learned a lot and had a good time. The captain did his best and we really appreciated his sincere efforts. Nature doesn't always cooperate...we understand.
So, we ended up going on the 3:30 tour on the Goldwing later that day. By that time Orcas had been located and the captain was able to take us to the transient pod in about 45 minutes. We spent the rest of our time following the "T" pod as they moved around the area. They often came quite close to the boats and the big male even paid us a close-up visit and dove right under our boat.
Our tour was supposed to end at 7:30 but the captain let us stay with the whales longer. After the other boats left we spent a while watching big male cruise the coastline hunting for seals. It was such a wonderful experience. On the way back to the dock, the captain took us around some islands and into some bays to show us other wildlife and tell us about the history of the area. His level of knowledge was incredible and he clearly loves his job.
This was our first time on a whale watching tour. Eagle Wing exceeded our expectations by leaps and bounds. They go out of their way to make sure you have a fun, safe and comfortable experience. They are pricier than other tour operators, but you will get what you paid for. We feel like we got much more than we paid for. They also have fast boats that can get to the whales quickly so you get to spend more time with them. They also care about the environment and seem to be a responsible company. And I can't say enough about how wonderful our captains were...enthusiastic and incredibly knowledgeable with an infectious passion for marine wildlife. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!!!

Thank noehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are so pleased that you understand that some days it can be difficult to find the whales but when you get the opportunity to use our industry leading "Whale Guarantee" it can really pay off.
Tom is an excellent and everyone of our captains will always do everything possible to meet and as in this case exceed your expectations. At Eagle Wing, being the #1 whale watching company ion Victoria is not just a number to us, its something we all strive to maintain day in and day out. Thank you for booking with us and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I came to Victoria two years ago primarily to go whale watching. I went with Eagle Wing and I was not disappointed. We went a long distance to see a pod of resident orcas and we were one of few boats there. Based on that experience I booked with the company to go whale watching again on my most recent trip to Victoria. We went out on August 29. There had not been any whale sightings by anyone that day and the weather was very unpleasant with rain and fog. We saw sea lions but were unable to locate any whales. The captain was apologetic and honest, he always kept us updated in the situation. We returned to the office where they had hot chocolate waiting and gave us a voucher to go out again at another time. Since we were in Victoria for another night we opted to go the next morning. The weather was much better. We went out with Chris M. who was the captain when I went on the trip two years ago. Within twenty minutes we saw a minke whale. Shortly after there was a sighting of transient whales and we travelled at full speed to get to them. We were the first boat there, which was amazing. We had an excellent view of the whales. Chris was very knowledgeable and answered all questions. We stayed with the whales for over an hour. It was an incredible experience. I have recommended this company and will continue to. Our trip lasted 3 1/2 hours and we were comfortable on board with jackets/floatation devices, sunglasses, toques, gloves, blankets and splash pants all provided.

Thank Albs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Great review and points to our exceptional Whale Guarantee. If we don't find any whales, you get to come out again, a confirmed reservation, the next time you are available. That could be the next day as was in your case, the next week, next month, next year.... you get the idea. We want all our passengers to have the experience of seeing and spending time with the whales. Chris is an excellent captain and his passion for what he does is exceptional as is with all our captains. Thank you for booking with us again and we hope to meet up again on your next trip to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

WOW!

My seven year old daughter and I went out yesterday,

Wednesday, August 28 with Capt. Tom M on the 1pm sailing.

It was her first time whale watching and although we had

to go 2/3 of the way to Vancouver, it was a long haul for her,

at 38knots it was not only smooth going but certainly took

a fraction of the time it could have on other slower whale

watching boats. Capt. Tom was professional, safe and

understatedly humble. The viewing of these magnificient

animals was spectacular, informative and fun.

I would highly recommend this company who obviously

have it all figured out especially customer service.

Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

It was great to have you and your daughter join us and we are sure that her first experience will want her experiencing the orcas again as she get older. Toms ability to find the whales and to share his passion for these lovely creatures is indeed something special. All our captains, crew and office staff share that passion and we try each and every day to instill our love and respect for the whales and all the creatures that reside in the Salish Sea in all those we meet. I am sure we will see you both again and look to that day. Thanks for taking time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing