We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale of a time!”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.01*
and up
Victoria Marine Wildlife Tour
Ranked #1 of 106 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whale of a time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was booked for me as a birthday present and couldn't of asked for a better way to spend the day. All the staff were really enthusiastic and very knowledgable on all the wildlife and surroundings. We were provided with a full set of waterproofs, hats gloves etc and sun cream. We saw lots of wildlife, including killer whales and a humpback and its baby. We saw these in the allotted time, but we stayed out longer so we could get a private viewing with the pod of whales as all the other boats headed back in. We feel we definitely chose the best company to go whale watching in Victoria and would highly recommend choosing this outstanding company!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank waterwaysGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your birthday with us and by all reports you had one GREAT Birthday exploring and experiencing the Salish Sea and our beloved whales. You did get a great photo of a Humpback and the snow capped peaks of the Olympic Mountains make a great backdrop for the Race Rocks Lighthouse. All in all One great day. Captain Jeff and all the staff at Eagle Wing take great pride in their jobs which is really more like a labor of love so we hope you will help spread the word and we look forward to seeing you again. You did have a choice and we thank you for choosing Eagle Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    104
    19
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“All the praise is well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I cannot rate this company highly enough. Everyone was v professional and the tours were well organised. Safety was taken seriously. Everything you would expect from a good company. But what made this such a special tour was the passion these people had for their jobs! We were taken out by two captains (the naturalist was off sick). They certainly knew how to handle the boat - but were also v well informed about the local wildlife. They were entertaining, enthusiatic, sensitive to the wildlife and v v passionate. We were rewarded by some amazing sightings. And when we were in position they just stopped the engines to watch (and listen to) a pod of 20/30 orcas passing by...mind blowing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
First, we want to Thank You for selecting Eagle Wing for your Marine Wildlife Experience while visiting Victoria. We know you had a choice and as you discovered, at Eagle Wing our captains will always do everything possible to ensure that our guests expectations are met. And by all standards yours certainly were. Our captains and all the employtees at Eagle Wing are pround of the jobs they do and continually strive to ensure we educate and inform visitors about the wonders of the Salish Sea and especially our beloved Orcas. Thank You again and we hope you will help spread the word that Victoria and especially Eage Wing are great. (We are just a little prejudice)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were a big group of 35 or so people, about half of them kids, going for a special trip (not officially whale-watching) at a special low rate. I had expected a leisurely boat trip along the shore towards Sooke, looking at seals and seagulls etc. However just as we were about to leave, the company was advised by phone that killer whales had been sighted near San Juan Island. So off we went, in completely the opposite direction, zipping along at 60-70 km/h in an open boat. That was such fun!! The kids all loved it and so did the adults. (And we also realized that the tour operators were right when they made us put on big "floater jackets" - the wind was pretty chilly.) We were able to watch a group of orcas for quite a while, and then we went for another speedy ride all the way to Race Rocks to look at seals and sea lions.
Our captain had lots to say about the boat, the waters, the weather, the plants, and the animals. It was really interesting - a great trip.
I guess I should take my family whale-watching...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 760Ulla760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and at Eagle Wing we love having a chance to interact with school groups as that gives us the opportunity to do what we can to instill the same values and respect for our oceans and the critters that live in them as we have. We look forward to hearing back from the children and hope to have them on board again in the future. They are the next generation of socially responsible citizens that we need to count on - Thanks again for letting us help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartz Hill, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish I had a better camera!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was a little leary of going whale watching. I was afraid I wouldn't see any whales and get sea sick in the process. I couldn't be more wrong. This was the highlight of our trip. They hook you up with everything you need from parkas, pants, beanies to glasses. Chris our guide was so knowledgable that I felt I got an education on whales too. He was also very caring making sure we weren't too cold or getting sick (thank god for those ginger candies). He even called ahead and had hot chocolate waiting for us when we got back. Eagle Wing gives you that down to earth hometown feeling like it is more then a business to them, they genuinely care. We must have seen a dozen or more of whales. It was amazing to see them in their natural habitat. Chris also put some sort of microphone into the water so we could hear them. The only disappointment was I brought the wrong camera. I needed a faster speed. At least I have the memories!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cervelo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review and so glad you came out even though you were not sure that this experience was for you. At Eagle Wing we connect the best captains and naturalists with the best boats and of course the best and most adventuresome people like yourself so that we can give our valued guests an experience that will stay with them for a long time. Wrong camera or not. I am sure the best pictures are those in your memory and we hope that you will come back again one day, maybe in warmer weather, and join us on the Salish Sea seeking out the Orcas, Humpbacks, and other critters that enjoy the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watching Whales with Eagle Wing Whale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was the trip of a lifetime for our family! Eagle Wing is able to go much further out so you get a really big trip.

We saw killer whales and humpback whales, sea lions, seals, otters.

The boat ride was amazing. It was a truly awe inspiring trip and fun for our whole family, teenagers included!

They provide jackets, pants, hats and gloves but it is a good idea to dress for a strong wind and a cool breeze. The temperature dropped as you get farther out.

We had an amazing time out on the water. The whales were the stars of the show but we were lucky to have such a great guide to answer all our questions. Worth it!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HSGoulem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Yes whales are the stars of the show but our guests are stars to us. Thank you for selecting Eagle Wing. We know you had choices and are always looking for more feedback from our guest so we can continue to provide the experiences they are seeking while visiting Victoria. Your kind comments help keep us at the top of the heap. Thanks and have a great holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing