We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watching Whales with Eagle Wing Whale”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.37*
and up
Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise
More Info
$100.71*
and up
Victoria Marine Wildlife Tour
More Info
$108.46*
and up
Victoria Sunset Whale-Watching Cruise
Ranked #1 of 110 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was the trip of a lifetime for our family! Eagle Wing is able to go much further out so you get a really big trip.

We saw killer whales and humpback whales, sea lions, seals, otters.

The boat ride was amazing. It was a truly awe inspiring trip and fun for our whole family, teenagers included!

They provide jackets, pants, hats and gloves but it is a good idea to dress for a strong wind and a cool breeze. The temperature dropped as you get farther out.

We had an amazing time out on the water. The whales were the stars of the show but we were lucky to have such a great guide to answer all our questions. Worth it!!!!!

2  Thank HSGoulem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Yes whales are the stars of the show but our guests are stars to us. Thank you for selecting Eagle Wing. We know you had choices and are always looking for more feedback from our guest so we can continue to provide the experiences they are seeking while visiting Victoria. Your kind comments help keep us at the top of the heap. Thanks and have a great holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,444 - 1,448 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We made this trip out of Victoria end of August.

I especially liked just the "boat" experience on its own; not sure why this type of boat is called a zodiak, I would call it a speed boat an it is just so much fun to race with the boat over the waves. Apparently we had a very quiet ocean that day; I think it is less relaxing (but maybe even more fun) on a more windy day with higher waves.

Of course seeing killer whales, for the first time in my life was a highlight. However, we also saw killer whales in the north of vancouver island later during our trip, where they always are in the reserve and were very playfull. I do feel that Port McNeill//Telegraph Cove is a better killer whale watching spot than Victoria. Still, the trip here out of Victoria is still more than worth it.
When we had found the pod of killer whales (the company knew where too find them, they drove the boat right away straight to the killer whales), we watched it for a long time (more than an hour) which was really nice; We were surrounded by +10-15 other boats full of tourtists, that was a bit less cool of course.
We also saw the sea lions on the race rocks reserve.

Maybe also good to know: eagle wing does almost garantuee whale sighting. Our boat left later because the other group before us was delayed: they went all the way up to vancouver (!!! indeed!) to than come back as the whales there were gone and see the same pod that we also went to. The people coming of that boat did not seem that enthusiastic as there tour had been so long.

Still want to add that the staff of Eagle Wing is very professional and friendly!
We went with the smaller 12p boat by the way.

Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, Owner at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Belgian_traveller_:

Thanks a million for joining us here at Eagle Wing Tours for your Victoria whale watching journey. We love hearing from our guests...we regard everyone as a part of the family.

I am glad you pointed out the boat style as being more of a speed boat—this is true! We do not offer or advertise having zodiacs for a bunch of reasons. Our boats are smoother, faster, have loads of bells and whistles and to be honest are more fun.

August, the time you joined us, is most certainly peak season for orca sightings all over the island! Did you know that Victoria boasts 98% success from May – October, whereas up north (Telegraph Cove area) only has great orca sightings from July-August (shorter season). This is why Victoria, historically, has been the best place to view orca for a longer part of the year.

Sounds like the orca where putting on quite a show for you up north—awesome! Luck of the draw when dealing with these wild critters. Next time we will have them jumping around for you—LOL. That is difficult though with transients (quiet- business like - mammal eaters) which are a different eco-type of orca than the residents, who you saw that day.

Thank you so much for your kind words and patience with our delayed morning tour—sometimes we have to go really far to find those whales. Fortunately, by the afternoon we found different whales to view that were closer to home base. This allowed us to experience Race Rocks which is amazing: offering views of the lighthouse, seals, sea lions, eagles & other marine birds.

Drop us a line if you find yourself back in beautiful Victoria. :) Thanks again!

Cheers,
Brett Soberg
co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Being so late in the season I was a little reluctant to book a tour to go whale-watching in the Victoria area. I am now glad that I did not miss out on the occasion to explore the bay with Eagle Wing Tours.

The crew was fun, professional and absolutely knowledgeable. They dressed us up in warm suits, pants, hats and gloves and we set off on their 60-feet long motor boat for a 4 hour cruise. I am not a fan of motor boats but let me tell you that the crew made you feel se safe I never got scared on board. We saw sea lions, seals and were lucky enough to follow two pods of orcas and two magnificent humpback whales. I found it incredibly soothing when the boat's motors were turned off and all you could hear was the laping water and the blasts of air from the nearby whales. Incredible!

I recommend this tour to anyone wishing to spend a few hours in nature and discover the beautiful fauna of the pacific northwest coast. The price is worth every penny (117$ including taxes) and the Eagle Wing Tours crew will make your journey memorable. There is no question why these guys are number 1 in TripAdvisor. They truely deserve it!

Thank M_robert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

You know what they say – It’s never to late – and your day on the water with us proves that fact. Yes it can be cold and at Eagle Wing we do everything possible to keep our guests warm. Whales are what we are about and so glad you got to experience both Orcas and Humpbacks. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have you back in out waters one day soon. Have a happy holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When we decided we wanted to whale watch while in BC, we looked to TripAdvisor. We saw Eagle Wing had a good rating, and we contacted them and made a reservation for our group of our group of 8, including several 'oldsters' who they worked very hard to accommodate. We saw many whales, plus they work at seeing a lot of other wildlife. Their vessels are small and fast enough that they can move quickly to where the whales are active. We were fortunate enough to have one Orca race toward us. The captain really relishes pushing the boat swiftly around the area. While it wasn't a cheap excursion, it was well worth the price, and we heartily recommend it.

Thank TraveledFarAndWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

All reviews are welcome and especially from Senior Reviewers like yourself. Thank you and we love folks of all ages to come and experience what we love to do. As you found out our captains do have a special passion for whale watching and at every opportunity we try and give the guest the experience they are seeking. By your great photos our captain did just that. As you indicated, Eagle Wing always makes that extra effort both in boat styles and operation to make each and every trip unique and we hope to see you again in Victoria. We know you had a choice and want to thank you for selecting Eagle Wing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A few weeks ago myself and two of my co-workers boarded with Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours. As a local to the area, I had never considered a whale watching tour because I assumed it was a bit of a tourist money grab. BOY WAS I WRONG. The tour was definitely one of the highlights of my fall. Not only were the staff incredibly informative and funny, they brought us right to the orcas (several surfaced less than 20 feet away from our boat!) - there were fins everywhere the eye could see. I can't quite describe the feeling when you see these creatures in the wild, but it instills a sense of calmness and peace, and boldly reinforces an appreciation for nature. Other wildlife spotted on the tour were bald eagles, seals, and a whack of other awesome creatures. The boats are smooth, fast, fun and less-polluting than others. You could ask the crew any question and they'd have an answer for you.

You haven't been whale watching unless you've done it with Eagle Wing.

Thank chantal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for your comments Chantal and FUN is just part of what Eagle Wing is about as you and your co-workers found out. We love having people from Victoria on board as it gives us the opportunity to promote not only the thrill and fun of whale watching but just as important is the opportunity to try and instill in people how to help protect and sustain this fragile marine environment. At Eagle Wing we are all about sustainable, responsible tourism and we thank you for helping us spread that message through reviews like yours on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing