We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Victoria
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $90.32
More Info
from $134.97
More Info
from $134.97
More Info
from $179.63
More Info
Reviews (2,454)
Filter reviews
2,454 results
Traveler rating
1,996
273
69
59
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,996
273
69
59
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits the upper deck butchart gardens transient orcas recommend this trip boat ride hour trip race rocks j pod marine life san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 2,454 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

This trip by far exceeded expectations with playful orcas, seals, bald eagles and a hump back whale and calf to top off the day. The narrative provided by the crew was both informative and educational. We did our research ahead of time and are so pleased that we chose Prince of Whales Tours. If you are ever in the area we highly recommend this tour. While part of what you see on any given day is luck, our crew was outstanding. Special thanks to Anthony and Sandy for sailing the ship and to James and Amy for their wealth of knowledge.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ncgalfromwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate this and are delighted to hear that this trip exceeded your expectations.

How great that you did your research and choose us to take a whale watching tour with - this feedback truly makes our day :) Thank you also for your positive feedback about our staff members. They work very hard to ensure our guest receive an enjoyable and educational tour with us.

We would love to have to have you join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We had a great trip! We saw humpbacks, orcas, eagles, seals and a bird colony! The crew (Anthony, James, Amy, Stuart and Ian) were excellent. They shared their knowledge and enthusiasm! And they continually looked for interesting things to point out and stop for.

I would recommend bringing binoculars. I didn’t have them and wish I did to get a bit closer look st the beautiful orcas.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Christielou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Hello Christie,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you enjoyed your encounter with Humpbacks, Orcas, Eagles and Seals! BC offers a beautiful variety of marine wildlife and we just love sharing these experiences with our guests,

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They are very passionate about the work they carry out and have a great deal of knowledge on whale and marine wildlife.

We hope to have you join us on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

I am not satisfied with whale watching trip could not see any whales and very expensive I want my money back

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank sai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you were not successful in seeing whales that day. Every tour is unpredictable and different in terms of what can be spotted. Just like whale watching anywhere in this region, or the world, sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales.

We do stand by our whale sighting guarantee and encourage our guests to join us on another tour in future at no cost, in the instance that no whales have been sighted. The experience of our guests is really important to us so please do contact us to arrange another booking. We would be happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Wanted to finish our family Canada holiday with a bang, ended up being a disappointing whimper as no whales were found and returned to harbour after 3.5 hrs when the trip was positioned as 3-5 hours?
I know you can’t guarantee these things when Mother Nature is involved but a very expensive boat ride for 4 seals and a seagull, the guarantee of rebooking for free isn’t of much value when you are a tourist.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Stuartread112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we value all customer feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not see any whales on your adventure. Every tour is unpredictable and different in terms of what can be spotted. Just like whale watching anywhere in this region, or the world, sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales but we can assure you that we always try our very best to find them.

We do stand by our whale sighting guarantee and encourage our guests to join us on another tour in future at no cost, in the instance that no whales have been sighted. This guarantee lasts a lifetime as we understand that sometimes guests' are just passing through.

The experience of our guests is really important to us so please do contact us to arrange another booking in future. We would be happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

I was highly skeptical of going whale watching, just assuming that we wouldn't actually see any whales, but my family was insistent and I'm so glad they were! We had an absolutely wonderful time on our half-day tour and we saw so many whales! We started out with an elusive grey whale, then saw a family of orcas, and even humpback whales! We also saw a sea otter, sea lions, an elephant seal, and a variety of other wildlife. My 9 and 11 year old nephews were thrilled.

Maia, our naturalist, was also incredible. She was highly knowledgeable and also hilarious. She had just the right mix of humor and knowledge to make it a very entertaining trip. And she patiently answered all of our questions!

I would highly recommend again!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank shaynerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you and your family got to see Humpbacks, Orcas, and even a Grey Whale on your adventure with us.

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff member Maia. She certainly holds a great deal of knowledge on whale and marine wildlife :)

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews