We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $90.03
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
Reviews (2,398)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas the upper deck recommend this trip boat ride race rocks hour trip marine life j pod san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2019

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about whales. The only suggestion I'd offer is to use the microphone during the safety and informational briefing. We could not hear over the roar of the motor. We did see humpbacks. If you expect to see an Orca, you may not even though the brochures feature Orcas. Check to see whether there have been recent sightings.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello Lynn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you saw Humpbacks on your tour with us and that you found our team friendly and knowledgeable.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the use of a microphone. We appreciate customer feedback so that we can enhance our tours and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to have you join us on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Wilma was absolutely amazing. We had such a fab time finding out lots of facts and was lucky enough to spot a pod of Killer Whales!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank sophiebailey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate this and are delighted that you saw a pod of Killer Whales on your adventure with us.

Thank you for you awesome feedback about our Naturalist Wilma too! We can't wait to have you join us on another tour the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

Not much else to say - thoroughly enjoyable trip with Jasper on a morning Zodiac adventure for the family.

Highlight was Humpback sightings including one very large whale that was launch feeding the krill soup that was served up by nature's west coast kitchen this morning !

Jasper shared a lot of information to the passengers and always observed a respectful distance from the undersea visitors.

The weather was very warm and calm which made for excellent viewing and hardly a drop of spray to worry any of the expensive cameras on the boat - even at speed. The zodiac ribs seem to be super stable and agile - I want one !

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank PaulN_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see Humpbacks on your tour with us!

Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our staff member Jasper. It is really important to us that we keep a respectful distance from the marine wildlife. We respect that they are wild mammals and we will always remain impartial observers :)

So great to hear that they weather was great for you too and that you enjoyed the Zodiac boat! This Zodiac tour is one of our most adrenaline pumping adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

My friend and I went Whale watching with the prince of Wales company. We went on the Zodiac which was fun but if you suffer from back or neck problems I would recommend using one off their other boats. Our trip was on the 14th July which we were on the 11 o clock trip. The trip takes around 3 hours. The company provide life suits and hats and gloves which I recommend you wear the gloves and hats due to being out in the middle off the ocean and it gets very cold. Our guide explained all about the boat and that every trip was different, he said that the front off the boat gets very bumpy whilst the back doesn’t suffer the force so much. Once out in the ocean we managed to spot an hump back whales and a raft off sea lions nesting on some rocks. An enjoyable experience was had.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Melmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Hello Melmo,

Thank you so much for choosing us to take your whale watching tour with. How fantastic that you got to see Humpbacks as well as Sea Lions nesting on rocks.

It certainly does get cold out on the open water, whatever the weather but we do provide all weather exposure Mustang suits as well as hats, gloves and goggles.

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Did the Ultimate Day Trip to Victoria, very well organised and the staff were professional, friendly and passionate about the wildlife. We saw humpbacks on the way to Vancouver Island and spent a lovely afternoon at Butchart Gardens. The bus stops right outside of the Fairmont Empress so we had lunch there, however there are plenty of lunch options in the area. The 2.00pm bus gave us sufficient time at the gardens before our 4.15pm pick up. On the way home, our crew was in contact with other boats - there had been no orcas spotted south, so our crew decided to take a different route home to try the northern waters. Sure enough, we spotted a small pod of orcas just before reaching Vancouver. Very impressed with the crew Anthony, Sandy, James and Amy, what a great day out!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank MissMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see Orcas on your tour with us! The Butchart Gardens is certainly a must see attraction too!

Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our staff members. They work very hard to ensure our guest receive an enjoyable and educational tour with us. We would love to have to have you join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews