We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $90.20
More Info
from $90.20
More Info
from $134.78
More Info
from $134.78
More Info
Reviews (2,386)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveler rating
1,620
235
61
57
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,620
235
61
57
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas the upper deck recommend this trip boat ride race rocks hour trip marine life j pod san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

We reserved the zodiac experiece from home. The day before we received an e-mail from the saying that our afternoon tour on zodiac was cancelled due to lack of partecipants, we anticipated it in the morning, but that day it was very windy. The girl at the desk told us that the tour was confirmed anyway but it was a complete disaster: I was soaked head to toes together with my camera, my hubby's back hacked for several days and we could't see any killer whale. The weather conditions were not suitable for that tour, they should have cancelled or postpone it, but they acted as a tourist trap. Luckly we had the opportunity to live a lifetime experience some days later with another whale watching company.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank cirnechidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello,

Thank you sharing your feedback with us. We are truly sorry that this experience didn't live up to your expectations. We do try our very best to use our best judgement as to whether a tour should proceed or not due to weather conditions and we are very sorry to hear that the weather conditions were on the rough side while you were on a Zodiac tour with us.

Our guests' experience is super important to us and our team is very passionate about providing a service where our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable experience with us.

Customer feedback is always very important to us so that we can address this feedback and find ways to enhance our tours.

It is very unfortunate that you didn't see any killer whales with us. I'm not certain from your response if you saw no whales or no killer whales but in the instance that you did not see any whales, we would love for you to join us on another tour in future at no cost under our whale sighting guarantee policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Whale watching can be hit or miss, so it is important to have a crew that keeps it fun and informative. Wilma did an excellent job guiding us during the 1.5 hours of ride to and from the siting, as well as during to 45 minutes we got to spend with the 2 pods of orcas we encountered. She was charming and very informative, with a deep knowledge of the subject matter and the rare ability to know how much or how little each passenger group wanted to know. The captain, too, did a great job, and took us back via ‘the scenic route’, allowing us to see some additional wildlife within the islands. Every crew member was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This is a well-run operation.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank GAStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Wow - thank you so much for your awesome review. We are truly grateful for this!

We are delighted that you had a great time on board with our Naturalist Wilma and that you got to learn a lot from her. She definitely has a wealth of information on the subject matter and enjoys sharing her extensive knowledge with our guests.

Our crew work very hard to ensure that our guests receive an educational, comfortable and enjoyable adventure with us and we are so happy you thought so too!

We hope to have you join us on another adventure in future the next time you are in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

Got a little wet. Ride was rough at times. Totally worth it , part of the adventure. Took the zodiac. Saw the "white orca". 10/10 would do it again. Thanks Gary!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Mike-n-Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Hello Mike and Patty,

How fantastic to hear that you took the Zodiac whale watching tour with us and that you had a wonderful adventure with us :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our crew member Gary. Our crew work very hard to ensure you receive a safe, enjoyable and comfortable adventure with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic tour seeing Orcas and hump back whales. Lili was great and gave us a detailed commentary as we were on the sound looking at all wildlife. The boat was very comfortable and a cup of chocolate hit the spot to warm us up after being outside on deck

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank peternP4114PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review! We really appreciate this and are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time out on the water observing orcas and humpbacks! It is truly special to encounter them in the wild.

We are glad to hear that your journey was comfortable with us and that our hot chocolate went down a treat :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

My husband and myself had a wonderful experience on our first whale watching trip. We were slightly disappointed that we didn’t spot any whales but the trip itself was incredible, great crew! Rory impressed us with his knowledge and love for birds. The boat is fabulous!! We took advantage of the company’s guaranteed to see policy and went back out the following day "free of charge" and boy were we happy we did, we spotted a family of orcas along with a humpback! What an experience. Thanks to Rory and Lili, their love and knowledge for this animals are impressive. The entire staff made our experience one to remember.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 213tessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate it and are glad that you returned and took another trip with us under our year-round whale sighting guarantee policy!

So wonderful to hear that you saw a pod of orcas and a humpback and that you enjoyed learning from our Naturalists Rory and Lili!

We would love to have you join us on another adventure in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews