We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $90.03
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
Reviews (2,398)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas the upper deck recommend this trip boat ride race rocks hour trip marine life j pod san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

Got a little wet. Ride was rough at times. Totally worth it , part of the adventure. Took the zodiac. Saw the "white orca". 10/10 would do it again. Thanks Gary!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Mike-n-Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Hello Mike and Patty,

How fantastic to hear that you took the Zodiac whale watching tour with us and that you had a wonderful adventure with us :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our crew member Gary. Our crew work very hard to ensure you receive a safe, enjoyable and comfortable adventure with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic tour seeing Orcas and hump back whales. Lili was great and gave us a detailed commentary as we were on the sound looking at all wildlife. The boat was very comfortable and a cup of chocolate hit the spot to warm us up after being outside on deck

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank peternP4114PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review! We really appreciate this and are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time out on the water observing orcas and humpbacks! It is truly special to encounter them in the wild.

We are glad to hear that your journey was comfortable with us and that our hot chocolate went down a treat :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

My husband and myself had a wonderful experience on our first whale watching trip. We were slightly disappointed that we didn’t spot any whales but the trip itself was incredible, great crew! Rory impressed us with his knowledge and love for birds. The boat is fabulous!! We took advantage of the company’s guaranteed to see policy and went back out the following day "free of charge" and boy were we happy we did, we spotted a family of orcas along with a humpback! What an experience. Thanks to Rory and Lili, their love and knowledge for this animals are impressive. The entire staff made our experience one to remember.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 213tessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate it and are glad that you returned and took another trip with us under our year-round whale sighting guarantee policy!

So wonderful to hear that you saw a pod of orcas and a humpback and that you enjoyed learning from our Naturalists Rory and Lili!

We would love to have you join us on another adventure in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

An excellent whale watching trip. I have been on several whale watching trips before but this one was the best. We saw Orcas, Humpbacks and on the way back we stopped at an island overflowing with Sea Lions. The guides were constantly looking for whales. They were concerned that we didn't have a close viewing but we saw a couple pods of Orcas and several Humpback whales close enough to see them quite well. I would recommend this experience to anyone.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank goyerchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We truly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear that you saw Orcas, Humpbacks and Sea Lions. Race Rocks is a very popular hangout for Sea Lions and they are a lot of fun to see! Although you might hear them before you see them! :)

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

We chose the "Zodiac" trip (high speed rib ride) - trip starts with a comprehensive induction and kit out with floatation suit/hat and gloves (it was a very warm day but when out there the suit is fine (I wore shorts and shirt with trainers which was ideal and also wore the hat- don't forget your shades and definitely put the sun screen on, lockers provided for personal items- take phone in plastic bag) - this is 3hour+ trip so prepare and you take drink/snacks with you on the boat if read. It is an exhilarating ride so older children/teenagers will love it. This is a great way to sight see as well as experiencing the wildlife, we saw Killer whales, seals and even a Humpback whale!!!
Our guide/Pilot "Jasper" was friendly and very knowledgeable - a real young gent and a pleasure to spend time with!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank simoncrone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hi Simon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate it and are thrilled that you got to see Orcas, Humpback Whales and Seals!

Shades are definitely a great idea when taking the Zodiac tour - our most adrenaline pumping tour!

Thank you also for your kind feedback about our captain. Our crew work very hard to ensure you have a safe, comfortable and educational adventure with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews