We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $89.94
More Info
from $89.94
More Info
from $134.39
More Info
from $134.39
More Info
Reviews (2,405)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveler rating
1,620
235
61
57
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,620
235
61
57
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas the upper deck recommend this trip boat ride race rocks hour trip marine life j pod san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2019

An excellent whale watching trip. I have been on several whale watching trips before but this one was the best. We saw Orcas, Humpbacks and on the way back we stopped at an island overflowing with Sea Lions. The guides were constantly looking for whales. They were concerned that we didn't have a close viewing but we saw a couple pods of Orcas and several Humpback whales close enough to see them quite well. I would recommend this experience to anyone.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank goyerchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We truly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear that you saw Orcas, Humpbacks and Sea Lions. Race Rocks is a very popular hangout for Sea Lions and they are a lot of fun to see! Although you might hear them before you see them! :)

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

We chose the "Zodiac" trip (high speed rib ride) - trip starts with a comprehensive induction and kit out with floatation suit/hat and gloves (it was a very warm day but when out there the suit is fine (I wore shorts and shirt with trainers which was ideal and also wore the hat- don't forget your shades and definitely put the sun screen on, lockers provided for personal items- take phone in plastic bag) - this is 3hour+ trip so prepare and you take drink/snacks with you on the boat if read. It is an exhilarating ride so older children/teenagers will love it. This is a great way to sight see as well as experiencing the wildlife, we saw Killer whales, seals and even a Humpback whale!!!
Our guide/Pilot "Jasper" was friendly and very knowledgeable - a real young gent and a pleasure to spend time with!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank simoncrone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hi Simon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate it and are thrilled that you got to see Orcas, Humpback Whales and Seals!

Shades are definitely a great idea when taking the Zodiac tour - our most adrenaline pumping tour!

Thank you also for your kind feedback about our captain. Our crew work very hard to ensure you have a safe, comfortable and educational adventure with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019 via mobile

This was amazing! Our guide Gary was fantastic and so full of information. I would recommend whole heartedly, especially on the Zodiac!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Nicky58585858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hi Nicky,

Thank you very much for leaving us a great review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this!

So great to hear that you had an enjoyable time on our Zodiac tour and that you had the opportunity to learn a great deal from Gary.

We would love to have you join us on another tour again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

During our short stay in Victoria, whale watching was high on the list of things to do. We had two or three boat companies to choose from but the Prince of Whales boat stood out as it was larger than the others we saw and looked the business.
We weren’t disappointed as the crew were, friendly, knowledgeable and placing our safety high on their agenda.

During our 3 and half hours on the boat we saw several Orcas and a Humpback Whale which we viewed from the advised distance to prevent stress to the whales. As a result the whales performed beautifully for us.

We also saw seals and birds of prey. Wrap up warm as it gets really cold, the boat has blankets for all that asked for them.

We highly recommend the Prince of Whales for Whale watching and thank all the crew for giving us an experience we shall never forget.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank ftl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got the opportunity to see Orcas and Humpback Whales! It is a truly special encounter to see them in the wild.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to have you join us on another tour in future! Long may your wonderful memories last :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommended excursion. The staff onboard (Rory, Lilly and others) are very friendly and knowledgeable > 10/10.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank MFHermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for your awesome 10/10 review. We truly appreciate customer feedback like this :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about what they do and have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to whale and marine wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews