We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $90.03
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
from $134.52
More Info
Reviews (2,398)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,625
235
61
57
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas the upper deck recommend this trip boat ride race rocks hour trip marine life j pod san juan island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommended excursion. The staff onboard (Rory, Lilly and others) are very friendly and knowledgeable > 10/10.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank MFHermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for your awesome 10/10 review. We truly appreciate customer feedback like this :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about what they do and have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to whale and marine wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We ended up taking two trips for the price of one, as we didn't manage to find whales on our first outing. We were booked on to another trip the following day for free, as per their guarantee.

We have been on safari before as well as numerous other wildlife excursions, including whale watching, so we fully appreciate how unpredictable nature can be. While it is always disappointing to miss out on a sighting, much of the enjoyment from these experiences comes from going out into another creatures' habitat, learning about their behaviour and characteristics and actively looking for the various species. With this in mind, we still enjoyed every second of being out there on the deck of the comfortable catamaran, learning about the native marine and bird species from the very informative naturalists as we sailed around the beautiful waters North of Victoria.

The second outing was more fruitful. We located a pod of Orcas after about half an hour of cruising, staying with the them for a number of breathe cycles (about 30mins) before backing off and allowing other boats to approach. There were other boats there and the crew were very mindful of not encroaching too closely on the orcas, but we still had a good encounter nonetheless.

On the way back we were lucky enough to also spot a humpback whale, which we loved just as much as seeing the orcas.

During the journey, Lili, Maya and Rory (the on-board naturalists) were positioned on each deck and were sharing all their knowledge about the various species of whale, the larger ecosystem and some of the challenges that they face. They also kindly shared some of their photos afterwards, as their camera equipment was more professional than most passengers.

We would heartily recommend using this company for whale watching tours. They are very professional, friendly and care deeply about the native species. Previous experience has taught us that less reputable operators are not inclined to treat the whales or their habitat with such respect so we felt like we had made the right choice with Prince of Whales.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Hello Matthew,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate it and are so happy that you finally got to see the Orcas and a Humpback Whale :)

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to our staff. They work very hard and we are proud to have such a dedicated and passionate team.

We would love to have you join us on another tour the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We enjoyed the Whale Watching Tour. Their new boat was comfortable. The staff were extremely knowledgeable, especially Lili. While out, we saw eight Orcas; amazing. On the way back to shore we were treated to hot chocolate. Wonderful day!!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Hello Nancy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We truly appreciate it and are so happy that you got the opportunity to see a pod of eight Orcas - how magical!

Thank you also for your kind feedback about Lili. She is very knowledgeable on all topics concerning whale and marine wildlife and is very passionate about what she does.

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

Well if you’re looking for an amazing experience in Canada’s wild life then look these guys knowledgeable and helpful on everything about their area we got too see killer whales , eagles ,seals, bird life also the chance too see the whales hunt down a seal was incredible thanks too the whole team great company

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Joel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Hi Joel,

So great to hear that you really enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. How amazing that you got to observe whales while on a seal hunt! It is certainly an incredible sight to see.

We would love to have you join us again on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Yesterday afternoon we left the dock at 5 PM for a sunset tour to head north up Haro Strait to see a beautiful mother humpback with her new calf. The viewing was spectacular! It was my first time on the Salish Sea Eclipse, Prince of Whales latest addition to their impressive fleet. 85' LOA, 95 Passengers and 5 crew and stunning viewing decks no matter where you are on board. Even though we were at full or almost full capacity, the vessel still feels spacious with lots of room to move around.. This sleek, 4 engine, jet boat whisks their passengers off at cruising speed of 30 knots in total comfort. Inside the main cabin are deck to ceiling windows for fantastic visibility. The cabin is climate controlled with a refreshments bar and comfortable seating and tables. 2 spacious heads are easily accessible. Now for the crew! Lilli Wilson was outstanding! Deck Lead and Naturalist extraordinaire! Not only did she run through an entertaining and informative safety briefing and vessel overview, her knowledge of the area and the marine environment with all of its wondrous creatures left us all feeling like we learned something new every time she pointed something out. Captain Bill and First Mate Joe commanded the vessel with skill and made sure that all on board had a fantastic viewing opportunity. Thank you again for such a lovely evening out on the water. I'd give 10 stars if I could... instead a nice fat, well deserved, tip for the crew to share for a job well done had to do.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Hi Andrea,

Wow thank you so much for your glowing review. Reviews like yours truly make our day. The sunset tours are one of our favourite adventures so we are delighted you had the opportunity to cruise through the Salish Sea and observe the beauty of British Columbia in its amazing light.

We are super proud of our brand new catamaran, the Salish Sea Eclipse. It certainly gives ''immersive experience'' a whole new meaning :)

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They truly have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to whale and marine wildlife and are very passionate about what they do. We would love to have you join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews