We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 01/24/2021
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $122.70
More Info
from $118.91
More Info
from $140.43
More Info
from $823.58
More Info
Reviews (2,627)
Filter reviews
2,627 results
Traveler rating
2,158
280
71
60
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,158
280
71
60
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching great trip zodiac boat saw orcas survival suits butchart gardens transient orcas race rocks hour trip an amazing experience once in a lifetime highly recommend this company vancouver island jennifer crew pod wilma
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 2,627 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Although no whales seen the skipper was incredibly friendly and informative and we get a free trip next time to compensate. Lovely people!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Hi Lucy,

We are sorry that you were not successful in seeing whales. Every tour is unpredictable and sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales.Thank you for your wonderful comments about our employees. They have a wealth of information when it come to marine life and really enjoy what they do!

Please do contact us to arrange another booking with our whale sighting guarantee. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

We went on an off-season day and still saw a bunch of transient orcas. The guide was informative and kept a respectful distance from the animals and it never felt like a “chase,” just passive observation, as it should be. We also saw harbor seals and pups, stellar sea lions and pups, a river otter, and various birds. The other two adults I was with agreed it was well worth the $86USD or whatever the full price was for an off season morning trip. It was plenty warm with the suits, gloves, and hats provided. Bring your own sunglasses and warm socks/shoes. Heads up- if you sit in the front row (especially with only a few people on the boat) you will need to hang on for dear life at times! Lots of fun!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AllysonRain2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Allyson - how great that you got to see a pod of transient orcas and marine wildlife on your adventure. The zodiac tour is certainly one of our most adrenaline-pumping adventures and a great way to encounter whales in the wild - almost like a Safari in the Sea!

We are so happy you enjoyed our tour and we hope to have you join us again whenever you are back in British Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Because I had so enjoyed this adventure several years ago, I wanted my husband to also experience this great adventure at sea. The zodiac allows you to get to sea life quickly and closely. We certainly saw whales as well as a sea lion feasting on a salmon mid sea. Of course there were plenty of otters, seals, sealions, etc. in and around Race Rock. We enjoyed spectacular scenery at the southern tip of Vancouver Island. All in all, this excursion is always a highlight and well worth the reasonable cost. There is lots of parking at the water terminal minutes away.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank newshoesWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so glad you had a nice experience on board our Zodiac. This tour is definitely one of our most thrilling adventures and a great way to observe whales in the wild. We love when our guests get to experience such memorable encounters with whales and other wonderful marine life - it sounds like you had a great time out on the water.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to have you and your husband join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Amazing experience from start to finish. Staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Once the trip day and time were picked the excitement built. On the boat the staff were fun, caring and knowledgeable not only about the whales but of all the wildlife and surrounding areas. Would go again in a heart beat.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sandyzinkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Sandy. We are very lucky to have awesome crew members who are full of knowledge and strive to give our customers the best experience they can. We would love to have you with us again as each adventure is so unique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

My friends and I participated in the "tourist in your own town" deal for a whale watching trip. This was the first time for all four of us had the most amazing time. Although heading out in the zodiac was a bit bumpy we were pre-warned that it was quite windy and given to option to reschedule if we did not want to be out in. We chose to still head out and we were all very glad that we did! Our skipper Mark was well informed and very great at sharing and answering questions, whether it was about the marine life or the small islands on route back to the Victoria Harbour. Our boat found a group of whales and Mark kept us out there as long as the whales were there and we were thrilled to have such a close up show. We would all recommend this tour to our friends or family and are all eager to get back out for our second tour.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hi Laura,

Thank you for your great review. So glad you were able to avail of the Be A Tourist offer and you had a great experience! The zodiac boat is definitely a fantastic way to experience a whale watching tour as it is one of our most intimate and adrenaline pumping adventures!

Mark certainly has a wealth of information on whale and marine life. It's always wonderful to learn from him. Thank you so much for your recommendation - we hope to have you with us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews