We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $89.09
More Info
from $89.09
More Info
from $133.12
More Info
from $109.11
More Info
Reviews (2,237)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveler rating
1,593
233
60
55
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,593
233
60
55
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas survival suits top deck butchart gardens recommend this trip transient orcas race rocks hour trip boat ride marine life j pod three hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Although no whales seen the skipper was incredibly friendly and informative and we get a free trip next time to compensate. Lovely people!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Hi Lucy,

We are sorry that you were not successful in seeing whales. Every tour is unpredictable and sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales.Thank you for your wonderful comments about our employees. They have a wealth of information when it come to marine life and really enjoy what they do!

Please do contact us to arrange another booking with our whale sighting guarantee. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

We went on an off-season day and still saw a bunch of transient orcas. The guide was informative and kept a respectful distance from the animals and it never felt like a “chase,” just passive observation, as it should be. We also saw harbor seals and pups, stellar sea lions and pups, a river otter, and various birds. The other two adults I was with agreed it was well worth the $86USD or whatever the full price was for an off season morning trip. It was plenty warm with the suits, gloves, and hats provided. Bring your own sunglasses and warm socks/shoes. Heads up- if you sit in the front row (especially with only a few people on the boat) you will need to hang on for dear life at times! Lots of fun!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AllysonRain2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Allyson - how great that you got to see a pod of transient orcas and marine wildlife on your adventure. The zodiac tour is certainly one of our most adrenaline-pumping adventures and a great way to encounter whales in the wild - almost like a Safari in the Sea!

We are so happy you enjoyed our tour and we hope to have you join us again whenever you are back in British Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

This was so much fun! Our kids LOVED it and the crew were so kind and easy going. Lovely experience. We didn't see any whales but we had tons of laughs and saw some Sea Lions and seals, and breathtaking views. The ride itself was so fun we commented several times that we'd have done JUST that. Thanks again!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Alysse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stay514480, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Thank you for your delightful review Alysse. We are so happy you and your kids had a great time and are glad you enjoyed observing Sea Lions and Seals in the wild. They have such playful, fun personalities!

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We really enjoyed our trip on the high seas with POW. Blessed with a sunny day in January, we were taken all the way down to Sooke. We saw lots of marine mammals and fantastic scenery. We’ll be back for sure!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 8069sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you for your review! We have been truly blessed to have such a mild and spectacular winter, and we are so glad you were able to join us on a January tour. Winter whale watching can be more varied due to weather or wildlife viewing conditions - but typically there are far fewer boats on the water (pleasure crafts and working vessels), so it makes for a much more personalized experience.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again the next time you are in Vancouver or Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

This was my third trip with Prince of Whales & once again we had an amazing time. I visit Victoria over the Xmas holidays every year & its alaways a highlight.
Jasper took us out on the zodiac & after maybe half an hour spotted humpbacks which where feeding. They keep surfacing every few moments so got to see lots of them. We then headed back along the coast where he showed us some little bays, the scenery was amazing we even spotted 2 bald eagles. Just as we headed back Jasper had a call to say Orcas had been spotted on the other direction so off we went. Once we found them there was a pod of maybe 20 which where heading back towards the harbour so we got cruse along with them.
Jaspers knowledge was great & really informative he’s an amazing asset to the team
See you again next year!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews