We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $131.75
More Info
from $121.60
More Info
from $1,195.92
More Info
from $113.60
More Info
Reviews (2,647)
Filter reviews
2,647 results
Traveler rating
2,178
280
71
60
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,178
280
71
60
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching race rocks an amazing experience once in a lifetime hour tour jennifer zodiac crew pod boat wilma skipper lili mark vancouver gloves knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 2,647 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2018

Mark and crew were very knowledgable and courteous to all passengers. They explained everything about the whales, seals and locations. The equipment and zodiac were clean and obviously well maintained. The weather was spectacular, sunny and calm. It was a very special day for my son and I. We saw approximately 21 humpbacks and got some amazing video. Would highly recommend Prince of Whales Whale Watching.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you so much for your glowing review Russ G! Mark is an incredibly seasoned and knowledgeable skipper, and has spent countless hours researching and cataloging humpbacks and their return to our local waters. He is a wealth of information and we are so glad you enjoyed your time on the water with him.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again the next time you are in Vancouver or Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

I havent actually gone a tour , but they saved the life of a friend that was trying to save another kayaker.
That alone gets them five stars.
I have heard great thing about their tours.
Strongly recommend.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank wcresponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing this story wcresponder. Our captains and crew are sometimes first on scene of a rescue, and trained on how to handle these situations - all of our on the water employees are trained and certified in Marine First Aid and in Marine Emergency Duties.

We would love to have you join us on the water at some point so you can experience a tour for yourself, and see why our team at Prince of Whales love what they do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

We saw an amazing sight a seal eating an octopus on the high seas! The mist around the mountains was exhilarating. What a way to celebrate a 20th birthday!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thank you for your review Jen G! We are so glad you had such a great day out on the water, and chose to spend your birthday celebrations with us! Happy 20th birthday!

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again the next time you are in Vancouver or Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

We chose a tour in a zodiac because we wanted to feel closer to the environment. Mark and Allie, our guides, provided a marvelous tour with their knowledge of the whales. The zodiac ride was worth the trip with the added bonus of the many many whales we saw. We highly recommend Prince of Whales.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mucky-MichelleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation Mucky-MichelleA! We have been having spectacular winter whale sightings, and our skipper Mark keeps saying that some of these tours have been his best tours ever (which is impressive since he's been in the business for over 20 years). Zodiacs are definitely not for the faint of heart, and we are so glad you enjoyed the ride!

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again the next time you are in Vancouver or Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

I had booked onto a different tour with a different group who didn't make their number for a December weekday excursion, so they transferred me and a couple of others to this trip. I didn't have high hopes, but it turned out to be completely amazing. Beautiful day with glassy seas (even though the day before and the day after were awful). We roared over to the Olympic peninsula across from Sooke and saw 4 or 5 groups of humpbacks, probably 18-20 individuals who came close to us and at one time dove under our zodiac and surfaced on the other side. We lingered among the whales for a satisfying amount of time and watched and listened to them spouting and surfacing and diving. Our captain was terrific - personable, knowledgeable, and very helpful and comforting to one passenger with a case of nerves. He told us to stories of several of the whales - especially a long time favorite, Heather. There were no orcas around, but we cruised past the sea lions, seals, and eagles on the island with a lighthouse (can't remember the name of it) on the way back to harbor. So very happy with this serendipitous trip and would recommend Prince of Whales with great enthusiasm.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank periplous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairaP4, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thanks for such a fabulous review periplous! We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you had such a fantastic time out with our skipper Mark. I remember this tour as Mark was pretty excited by the sightings you had on this tour in particular, with 18 to 20 Humpbacks in the water. Mark was actually the first guide to document the revival of Humpbacks to our waters after they had been hunted to near extinction at the turn of the century.

I am fairly certain the lighthouse you would have visited was Race Rocks Ecological Reserve, which is teeming with pinnipeds!

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait for you to join us again the next time you are in Vancouver or Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews