We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Whales Whale Watching

Prince of Whales Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.55*
and up
Zodiac Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Prince of Whales is the largest and most environmentally sustainable whale watching and eco-adventure company operating out of both Victoria and Vancouver. With a fleet of both open and semi-covered boats, we are better able to match a tour to your desires. Join us out of Victoria for a fun and adventurous Zodiac tour or climb aboard the world-famous Ocean Magic II. Both of these tours operate for 3 hours. Want to see whale watch off the coast of Vancouver Island AND see the beautiful Butchart Gardens all in one day? Join us on our Ultimate Day Tour out of Vancouver or our Whales and Gardens Tour out of Victoria. We also offer float plane options allowing you to travel from Seattle or Vancouver to Victoria, saving you time and energy planning. We are happy to accommodate overnight visitors to Victoria.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our zodiac experience with Prince of Wales - the guarantee to sightings didn't disappoint!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paddling_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceofWhales, Owner at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the review, it's good to hear that you enjoyed the tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,134
    182
    53
    41
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing whale watching experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend came in from interior BC and decided to go whale watching. Our experience was absolutely amazing, our tour guides name was Rush and he gave us an experience to remember! We sat in the middle of two whale pods, probably 30-40 whales and shut the engine off as they swam right though our path. After about 2 hours of non-stop whales Rush drove us out to a little island called Race Rocks where you can pull up beside hundreds of sea lions. The lions would growl and roll around, diving in and out of the water it was very cool. Over all a wonderful experience and hilarious and very informative guide and very safe and professional i would highly recommend doing this trip if you are in the Victoria area!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceofWhales, Owner at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Wow, thanks for the outstanding review! Rush will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour, and we are delighted that you had such an incredible experience viewing the Resident orca pods and the sea lions at Race Rocks. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day for Whale Watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Early in october on a perfect sunday, i took my out of town visitors whale watching with this company, and it was an experience. we got really lucky and saw an amazing assortment of animals , first a humpback whale that went on several dives showing off his tale and fins, to a pod of orca whales of about 30 swimming (as or amazing on board biologist Jen said the J-Pod, the resident group of whales that come by for the salmon season)

We had so much fun, and got lots of great videos. I love that the entire time we were sighting the whales, you can hear Jen say interesting facts on all my videos that i recorded during the trip. Very highly recommend if you are here, its a once in a lifetime trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceofWhales, Owner at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! Humpback season is here and we've been getting some amazing sightings of these huge mammals. We are fortunate enough to have our resident orca pods in the area as well, and it certainly sounds like you picked a great day for whale watching. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience; hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

When I booked a zodiac tour to see killer whales in the wild that late in the season, I had not idea that it would be such an outstanding experience. Starting from the very friendly and helpful ladies in the office; Claire and Jenn, to our captain, who they referred to as "Rush", the whole day could have not been any better. Not only did "Rush" end up locating two pods of resident killer whales (about 40 whales) in the sun! (other boats where trying to find whales in the fog), his knowledge about the whales was very impressive. Also, the way he presented the information was witty, fun, and easy to understand, which made the whole experience outstanding. I brought my friend and she loved it! Well, how could we not, we were surrounded by whales, I mean a lot of them, the sun was shining, the ocean was calm - nothing can beat that. Thank you Prince of Whales for a very memorable day, I can recommend this company to everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceofWhales, Owner at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for the amazing review! We are delighted that you had such an incredible time, the office staff and your captain will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Viewing 40 whales in their natural environment is unforgettable, and having great weather just adds to the experience. Thanks again for your kind words, and for choosing Prince of Whales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Amazing trip for a local resident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am a local resident of Victoria BC and I had never done a whale watching tour before until today and it was amazing. Jen whom was our guide on the top deck of the Prince of Whales tour was amazing, she gave so much information on the creatures we saw and there were many. I have studied wildlife for years and thought I knew a lot but she blew my mind on details that I never even knew, (there she blows!... as she taught us was as a looking for whales term). I never knew there were different breeds of Orca's but there are! I didn't know why some did certain things like behaviour, but there are reason's they do! She was amazing and so friendly. Captain Jeff was so cool, he started the tour with everyone getting comfortable and chatty before we even left the docks and he made sure we got to see lots of whales. He never missed a beat as soon as one surfaced in the distance he got us a good distance away for perfect photos and never disturbed the animals. Thank you again Prince of Whales... had such a great day, :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nsayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceofWhales, Owner at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It sounds like you had an amazing trip! Thank you for the lovely review, we will let Captain Jeff and Jen know how much you appreciated their expertise. It's always great to have local residents out on the tour; hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Whales Whale Watching also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Prince of Whales Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing