We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, through the TELUS Skins golf tournament.

Similar look and feel to new Westin or W hotels. All suites. Kitchen has full size appliances. Bathroom has a separate tub and glass shower.

Great lobby bar. Great front desk staff. Nice decorating throughout hotel and rooms.

Only complaints are that the lighting in the bathroom could have been brighter (although I did like the fixture), and the outside wall is all glass, with blinds, which lets a lot of morning light in. All queen size beds, too. I prefer a king size, myself.

Secure underground parking, if you have a car.

French press for your coffee.

HD satellite TV setup in the living room. Think it was standard definition in the bedroom.

The hotel has a very expensive, contemporary vibe. Very roomy. A few of the tournament golfers were staying here, as well, so that's a good testimonial.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay at the Oswego during the really busy Telus Skin's tournament earlier this month. We really appreciate the feedback, and will be sure to pass on and discuss with the hardworking dedicated team at the hotel. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

It's hard to imagine a better-located hotel in Victoria. The Oswego manages to be away from the busy-ness of downtown, yet only two blocks from the harbor (including the major ferry terminals) and three blocks from the British Columbia legislative assembly buildings. We were glad to have dispensed with our rental car after arriving in Victoria from other points on Vancouver Island; the downtown is compact, interesting, and walkable, and this hotel near most points of interest. Since it stands on the edge of the residential James Bay district, rooms are quiet inside and out. We were amazed at the size of our suite--as others have pointed out, far more like a one-bedroom condo than an ordinary hotel room. The staff helpfully showed us where to find a market within walking distance, and we made breakfast each day in our full kitchen--not our usual routine on vacation, but enjoyable in this case. The hotel provides excellent, locally roasted coffee--a staple on Vancouver Island--and also a French press in your room, a nice touch. A spacious balcony offered views over neighborhood houses with the snow-covered mountains of Washington State in the distance. You can see them even more vividly by walking south a few blocks to the pretty waterfront park.

James Bay offers a pleasant summer farmer's market on Saturday morning, worth checking out for delicious jams and local color. For excellent small-plate dishes, cheeses, and expert pairings with British Columbia wines, also check out Sips Artisan Bistro, 425 Simcoe Street--again within walking distance. It's a casual space for an early dinner and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay at the Oswego. We really appreciate the feedback and will pass on and discuss with the hardworking dedicated team at the hotel. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

More like a condo than a hotel. Somewhat smallish, like most new condos. But very nice appointments, great location. Horribly slow wifi.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was pleasant. I enjoyed the location as it is about a five minute walk to downtown so it is still close to all the shopping and restaurants, but in a quieter neighborhood. I had a one bedroom suite on an upper floor with a great view. The room was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated. I enjoyed the spaciousness of the room and the amenties (kitchen with stainless/granite, sitting area, balcony with chairs, 2 tvs, free HS internet, Satellite TV a nice little sound system which was on when I arrived making my room feel homey). The bed was comfortable, HOWEVER, my only complaint is that my bedroom was missing the blinds for the door that led to balcony, which was not a big issue on the first morning as it was a grey day, but I had sun streaming into my room at the crack of dawn during the second mornging, so I didn't get to sleep in. I advised the staff of this so hopefully that issue will be fixed for the next guest(s). Overall I felt that it was great value for the price. I have paid more at other downtown Victoria hotels and have been in much smaller rooms with no kitchen, sitting area, balcony and have had to deal with a fair amount of street noise when staying right downtown. There is a fitness room in this hotel, which I didn't try out, but no pool, which wasn't important to me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed positive review about your recent stay at the Oswego. As mentioned, we pride ourselves on the detail and unique contemporary suites that we offer. Unfortunately, as mentioned the suite that you occupied had a blind damaged from the previous guest and we were waiting for a replacement blind. Our apologies that this caused a restless sleep in and interuption to your relaxation. Please be rest assured that this missing blind will be replaced as soon as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon and for you to continue to enjoy the Oswego hotel for all the positive things you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Oswego Hotel was a great value. As a solo female travelling on business, finding a hotel that feels like home is very important to me, yet also very difficult to find. I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The room was fantastic; nice layout, furniture, fullly equipped kitchen, great view and generally comfortable. It was really nice to be able to cook dinner and do the dishes in a nice kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, just like at home. Ate at the restauraunt one evening and found the food excellent and very reasonably priced- had a salad, beef tenderloin as an entree and a glass of wine and the bill was only $31 (before tip). Location is great- within walking distance to everything downtown. Would definetely stay here again and highly reccomend it to anyone else looking for a place to stay in Victoria, whether staying for business or pleasure. My only complaint is the parking- there is no other alternative to the $10/day underground lot - unless you want to try for street parking which isn't going to happen. Parking should really be included.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSaleswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We recently stayed at the Oswego with our child. The building looks lovely, and is generally convenient to things we wanted to see or do. The room was large, modern and nicely decorated, and the kitchen very spacious. The building was quiet.

On balance we would stay here again, however, a few comments. 1. While the rooms are modern and nicely decorated, the furniture is not of a particularly high quality, and the bed and sofa bed were both incredibly uncomfortable. 2. The kitchen was nice, but simple things like oven mitts or mixing bowls were missing. 3. Housekeeping had not got to our room by almost 4 pm, at which point we were arriving back from a day of sightseeing, so we didn't want to leave our room so they could clean. 4. There were only two stools for the table, so the three of us could not sit at the table and eat together. In a suite that is designed for 4, we would have expected four chairs or stools. 5. Wireless internet would be preferable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend, we weren't looking to spend too much on our getaway and found ourselves paying 160 a night for the 1 bedroom suite. I can't say we had any complaints, the service was great, the TV remote stopped working, lady from the desk came upstairs and fixed that. The room was very nice as well, I don't remember now as I am reviewing late, but I think they might have been renovating their rooms? The kitchen had all the supplies, and again no complaints and would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityInnManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,150 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $101 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing