We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

large rooms, very clean, lots of extras, nice bar area and comfortable sofa areas for drinks and appts.
close to the harbour and other attractions such as shopping, restaurants
The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you!

Appreciate that you took the time to post a positive review about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

Come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    391
    89
    37
    21
See reviews for
396
828
81
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had our family of four in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit in the top floor (lovely upgrade!). This is a first class property in a fabulous location. We did get a car for part of our visit to see some other areas of the island, but it would not be needed. The unit was beautiful, new and contemporary. The front desk staff was fantastic with helping with taxis, tours and tips. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The top floor 2 bedroom suites have views of both directions and a HUGE outdoor deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCTravelers695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just returned from a extended holiday and was very impressed with the location and the views of the mountains from our large room. Just five minutes walk took us to the harbour area where there was many activities. We particularly enjoyed the little water buses that took us to Fisherman's Wharf

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were on motorcycles, coming off the ferry in Victoria from Port Angeles after a long day's ride. From all we could see, Victoria is a very well run city, except that they forgot to put a traffic light at the ferry exit - so after about 15 minutes waiting for an opening in traffic, we just gunned our bikes and flew across the intersection to a chorus of honking horns. All tension evaporated two blocks later when we saw a little sign for our hotel - The Oswego. The punchline: This is an extremely well run hotel - in every respect. As a former Four Seasons Hotels executive, I should know, and these folks are very, very good. From the front desk staff, cafe, parking, rooms, location - everything was top notch and with that wonderful calming attitude that tells you all is well. My room was a mini suite- which I think is standard - well appointed, nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wow, thank you for your positive comments and high accolades - always special when commented from our peers in the industry.

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed not only the hotel but the staff and service. The team work hard and focused to provide an exceptional guest experience as we appreciate our guests tremendously - glad we delivered on all fronts.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Victoria - not sure if the traffic light will be installed at the intersection of the Coho but we hope that you still find your way to us.

Thank you

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I loved Victoria and especially this hotel. The room was beautiful, big, and it had a great balcony, with a nice view. It had a great big bathroom, like you were in a spa. They had cold water (in real glasses) and nice green apples downstairs waiting for you. I loved the kitchen and fridge. For the rest of our travels, I kept comparing all hotels to the Oswego; it was that wonderful. However, my first impression left me a bit disappointed. I had called in advance to let them know we would be arriving early, and we had requested early check-in, but when we got there, the concierge said it wasn't available and wouldn't be until much later. However, they did wave the $20 parking fee instead. There were also some wireless issues that took a while to resolve. Other than that, our stay was amazing. The staff were wonderful and helpful. A lovely boutique hotel within walking distance of everything! Please note, this hotel (like many others in Victoria) does not have air conditioning, nor did we need it. The weather was amazing, but it did get cool at night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iteach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

The hotel was 100% full during your stay. We definitely try to accommodate guests that request early check in but, we also ask for understanding that with so many guests requesting this we are unable to honor all requests. Check out time isn't until 11am so early check ins as with most hotels can be taken as a request basis only. Our regular check in time is 3pm which give the housekeeping team time to clean the suites after guests check out.

We do hope however that you can come back and enjoy the hotel the next time you visit Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife flew us up to Victoria on Kenmore Air for a surprise birthday weekend. She chose the Oswego Hotel based on a lot of research of hotels in the area. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly staff which made us immediately feel welcomed. The front lobby was well laid out with a nice contemporary style. Once we arrived into our room we found it was also had a very nice layout with welcoming decor. Not to mention a very nice plate of chocolates and birthday card from the hotel manager. Well done!! We were on the 9th floor and could see the harbor where cruise ships and other marine vessels were coming and going. A great setting after dark. With the hotels location only a few blocks from the marina, we walked everywhere without the need of a car. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria. Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel and a wonderful city!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel for your special occasion. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the little details that we do to make our guests feel extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose the Oswego Hotel based entirely on all of the great reviews it got on Trip Advisor. And guess what, the 300 plus people that raved about it were not wrong! I knew that it would be the perfect place for us and it was. We had a one-bedroom suite on the top floor with a huge balcony with panoramic views. We sat out there every morning sipping on the wonderful coffee supplied by the hotel. All of the staff were amazing (a special shout-out to Amanda, Suni and Eric) and went above and beyond. Thank you for helping make our trip to Victoria a memory that we will treasure forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments - I will pass onto the team.

The team that work at the Oswego are dedicated and are exceptional in providing a wonderful experience for our guests. They genuinely care. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the service and the hotel overall that made your stay more memorable.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,626 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing