We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Victoria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Parkland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Victoria. Perfect location. Elegant and quiet. Plus good food. We recently took a Victoria Clipper package. Oswego was one of the hotel choices. Upon arrival we upgraded to a suite at a very reasonable rate. Unless you need a large pretentious fancy hotel with a huge lobby, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne04284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We work closely with the Clipper and our close proximity for our guests to the Clipper terminal makes it an ideal place to stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    365
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
360
754
70
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked through Clipper Vacations and came with two girlfriends. We had a one bedroom suite... Full kitchen! We enjoyed our stay, were within a short walking distance to everything, staff was friendly and helpful! We loved the water available as soon as we entered the lobby! We all slept well... Sleeper sofa was comfy too. Would stay again and would ask for a harbor view next time!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the hotel location and the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a recent visit to Canada, this really is one of the best for the money. Angela on reception was extremely helpful when we messed up our booking and sorted out everything. The shower was just the best in the bathroom which as very luxurious . The staff at breakfast couldn't do enough and the food itself was lovely. I would definitely stay here again if we come back to Victoria. Lovely and central, but out of the main streets for sightseeing. What more can I say............ ......................................

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay - glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff.

We appreciate the positive feedback and I will definitely pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 10month old and booked a one bedroom suite. The room was very nice and well equipped with full kitchen and a spacious bathroom with both bath tub and walk in shower. The down side is that the rooms are incredibly bright and all they have are flimsy blinds which do very little to block out light. There are no curtains. We found it very difficult to put the baby to bed when it was so bright and we all woke up at the crack of dawn because of the light. This may not be an issue for someone traveling alone or in the middle of winter but we found this problematic and were surprised that a hotel with such bright rooms wouldn't have black out curtains installed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed the hotel.

Our apologies that the blinds let light in causing you an interrupted sleep.We will continue to work on getting blackouts in place.

Thank you for choosing the Oswego and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wow!, magnificent suite, full kitchen and equipped with a fridge, cups, spoons, stove, dishwasher, all the amenities for a very long stay!
Every night a staff member would bring a carafe of minted water! (never had this type of quality service, even at the Pan Pacific in Vancouver! ( a dump in comparison!)
Fresh linens everyday, Clean bathroom and great ceiling fans!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a full kitchen if you are staying more than 2 nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Wow - thank you for your amazingly positive review and your comments I will definitely pass onto the team. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and our little touches that ensure our guests are special and looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at The Oswego Hotel recently and all I have to say is - excellent! Awesome staff who are professional, helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, superbly clean and had all the amenities one could need. The turndown service with complimentary mint water on your bedside table was a nice touch to end a long day.

The on-site bistro had amazing food and again, wonderful staff and service!

Thank you to all who made my stay so enjoyable and pleasant. This is my hotel choice whenever my travels bring me back to Victoria!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerks972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Wonderful comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, amenities and O Bistro too.

The team work hard together to ensure our guests have an exceptional stay with us and we are glad that we delivered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Oswego. We really enjoy the convenient location, ease of parking, and amenities (all suites with great kitchens) in this hotel, as we like being able to eat a some meals in our room. It's quiet, comfortable, clean and modern.
This visit we had several family members staying for a family celebration and dinner for 16 in the O'Bistro. The location, amenities and rooms were perfect for our needs. Reservations staff were very helpful; check-in and out was fast and efficient, and all staff friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped, although we did have to ask a few times for coffee and dishwasher soap. Vanessa did a wonderful job of arranging our dinner on the Sat. night. We were very happy with the menu, food, and table setting, and really appreciated the quiet atmosphere. Our one complaint was the speed of table service. The server herself was excellent; however, with just one server for our group of 16, we had very long waits between courses and some people received their meals several minutes before others, so their food was cold before they ate. I think a second server would have made a big difference. We love the hotel, though, and likely will be back.

Room Tip: There are many different room floor plans, so you might want to check out different ones if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us this past weekend. We also recognize that there are many choices of hotels in Victoria and we appreciate that you chose our hotel to stay at.

I have discussed your points mentioned about your dinner for 16 people in our bistro with both Vanessa our Sales and Events Manager, Emi our Bistro Supervisor and Jeff our Executive Chef. I did want to emphasize that we did have more than one server attending to your table. Sometimes when there are larger groups and due to the small size our kitchen - delays occur. We apologize if any of the food appeared cold. Our Supervisor informed me that there were some inconsistences with service whilst the server was waiting for people to finish and delays with that also.

We will continue to work with the team to ensure our service standards are maintained at all times no matter how large the group is.

Vanessa will be back in touch and an adjustment to the bill has been made.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing