We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel advises as an all-suite property. I didn't pay full attention to that detail and was surprised by a spacious accommodations.
We had a bedroom, sitting room and kitchen and a bathroom with separate shower and bathtub.
I especially liked the slate type flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. The other furnishing are fresh and well maintained.
The bedding is comfortable
The front desk personnel are cheerful and well informed. This is a high point of staying here.
We also tried the restaurant. It was just okay, I think that there are better places nearby
And speaking of nearby this place is only a couple of blocks from the ferry terminal an easy walking distance even with rolling luggage.
Also it's close to the Empress and downtown Victoria.
The street is not busy and even with the windows open sleeping is comfortable

Room Tip: The parking garage has a locking enclosure if you are driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californiaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
When our guests enjoy our hotel and its amenities - this makes us happy!

Thank you for your overview on amenities and service at the hotel. The hotel was built very much with the West coast feel, wood and slate is found throughout the hotel.

If your travels bring you back to Victoria we very much hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    365
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
359
754
70
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent stay ar the hotel. Staff was very attentive. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Beds were above average. Nice deck to enjoy morning coffee. Great breakfast area with reasonable prices. Close to downtown and wharf. Just a block and half from boat. Underground parking. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Like many of our guests we are glad that you found out suites spacious and also our great location close to downtown.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at this hotel. The one bedroom suite was great. All necessary amenities for our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping the first couple of days were wonderful including the turn down service. On our last day housekeeping showed up late. The bed wasn't made properly and the service just seemed poor in general. Maybe a different staff member. Disappointing after such a good stay. The one thing that stuck out that they can't changed is the noise level from the street and on the hotel floor. No air-conditioning which could prove challenging on hot day. Overall, good hotel and close to downtown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank easytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry for the lower standard of housekeeping your last day. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper so that she can work with her team to improve in standards of training at all times.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I appreciate the team approach to management and service at the hotel, from Jessica and team in the bar, to the front desk and Vanessa in sales and Ariel with building works. Everyone's gone out of their way to help me have a great stay for a week or many weeks during the winter snow bird special rate stay.

They get my repeat business. They have a number of regulars who get similar treatment so they value their repeat customers.

They try their best to help me get the best value for my money and make my stay most comfortable.

As this is a pet friendly hotel, it's sometimes hard to get a pet free room. That's a bit of a challenge for me.

However, the totally non smoking hotel is great!!

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Studios can go up to the 9th floor. Ask for higher up for a better view especially on the west side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Sharon for your review. Additionally we appreciate you noting certain team members that went above and beyond for you - we will pass your positive comments onto the team.

I am sorry that you had challenges with the Pet policy. Yes we do allow pets but definitely try and allocate them into designated rooms. We have many non pet rooms available for our guests.

We value all our guests but more so our regular and repeat guests. We hope that they enjoy the hotel and service that makes them keep coming back to stay with us.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon as and when your travels bring you back down to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Oswego is a short walk from the ferry dock. The hotel is so clean and the necessities are all there -- robes, french press, coffee, comfy beds and couch, cookware (if you want to cook!), and even a dishwasher. Check-in/check-out was a breeze. People were very friendly and we would definitely stay there again. We had a Black Ball combination package that had a standard room, which we upgraded to premium for $25/night. Our two night stay was WAY too short! We loved Victoria and we will be back!

Room Tip: When you book, ask to be on the Harbor side. Anything above the 5th floor would be great -- even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdalelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We value our partners and especially Black Ball. Our proximity to the dock makes it ideal when someone arrives to find our hotel less than a block away.

We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you come and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very, very pleasant staff.
Good location ... Short walk to Empress
Quiet residential neighbourhood ... On tree lined streets
Very well equipped efficiency suite.
Nice touches ... Like fresh mint water at bed each night
Good food in small well decorated ground floor restaurant.

Very good value.

Room Tip: Sorry forgot room number ... But upper floors facing west have nice sunset ... Mine had a tiny balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us - we hope that you come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We were booked in for two nights, the first night was the end of a long days travel that had started extremely early. We all looked forward to an early evening meal and bed. The restuarant was closed for a private party that evening, none of us wanted to eat in our rooms and we ended up eating in town. One of our group had been unwell that day and it meant his wife was unable to join us as she felt unable to leave him for a long period. When the party ended we were woken by noisy and obviously very drunk people from that party outside of the hotels front lobby. We were not mada aware of the dining room being closed during our check in and due to the arrival of two cruise ships and a navy aircraft carrier it took us two hours to find a free table. The following morning there were several people at breakfast who were not guests in the hotel resulting in us having to wait for a table and other guests eating sat at the bar.
You really need to sort out your priorities and consider your guests needs above the financial priorities of the hotel and it's impact on the service you offer!
Every other aspect of the hotel was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sure54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent review

My apologies for any less than satisfactory level of service.

All of our guests are emailed or called prior to their arrival date if we have an event in the evening to let them know of the occurring. Throughout any bistro function closures we always offer room service throughout..

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing