We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently shared a room with my mother at The Oswego Hotel for my cousin's wedding. I was lucky to get the room early to change for the wedding as we arrived same day. The room is fantastic and has great amenities like a fully functional kitchenette. I so wish we were staying longer. The bed was very comfortable. The room is spacious with lots of lighting. We were lucky to have a nice view as well.

The wedding reception was also held at the hotel and was also catered by the hotel. The food was cocktail style, lots of variety and very tasty.

The hotel is also within walking distance to many of Victoria's sites and attractions. A beautiful place!

PS: Turn down service featuring chocolates, and mint water at your bedside!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel not only for your stay but for the Wedding that was located at the O Bistro in the Hotel.

I will pass on your positive comments to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    377
    88
    37
    19
See reviews for
371
772
76
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

A wonderful experience. Close to everything, new, clean, friendly service and studio was very convenient, all utensils provided. Need blackout curtains to block out sunlight. Restaurant was very good.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I first visited the Owsego when they opened a number of years ago. Upon my arrival this time there was a personal note from the manager welcoming me back! ( nice touch you...) While there was a wedding on Saturday night which closed the bistro, the staff made great recommendations for cool restaurants in walking distance. Our room was spotless, quiet and a great couples escape. We'll be back!

Room Tip: chose a room numbered X08 ( south side) for a great view of the Cascades in WA, just across the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neo604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review - We definitely value all of our guests but especially our guests that keep returning to stay with us. We appreciate you!

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our location and amenities

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The suite was large and comfortable, with modern high-end decor. Bed was great, and all suites have kitchenettes and luxurious bathrooms.
Staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, and noticed that hotel security was perhaps a step above.
We only stayed one night, but it would probably be good for longer stays, although there is no pool or hot tub. Had breakfast only in the restaurant (too many favourite restaurants in the area!), and although the food was quite good the service was slow, even though it was not busy.
The lounge is very quiet, if you like that, but we weren't there the night they have live jazz, so may be livelier then.
Overall, would be happy to stay here again if the price was right (which it sometimes is)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review.

I apologize that you found our service a little slow in the O Bistro. I have passed your comments onto the Food and Beverage Supervisor so that we can improve for all of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel overall and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently stayed at the Oswego for a work function; even though it was a 'no-name' brand hotel, I was pleasantly surprised; boutique chocolates in the room, personalized welcome letter, chocolates on the pillow at night, and even a carafe of water with a mint leaf at bed side. You don't see that in your standard hotel! The building was built as a condo complex, so the rooms are all a good size; some with separate 1 or 2 bedrooms + full kitchen. The only drawback for me was there was no air conditioning, although opening a window or the balcony door allows the breeze from the ocean to roll right though.
I will be back, for pleasure, next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLHTCUSE2-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The location of the hotel is good and the staff are very friendly. It seems to be more of a residential hotel, because the lobby is very small and the lounge and breakfast room not particularly inviting. My suite was large, but the bathroom was off the kitchenette rather than the bedroom, which was awkward. I could have settled in for a month, however, with the full-sized refrigerator and stove, and big closets!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornReginaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and amenities.

We pride ourselves on our quieter location off the Inner Harbour and spacious suites. We do not have any people that live at the hotel and are 100% hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The staff at the Oswego is fantastic. The rooms are trendy, new, clean and professionally decorated. My husband and I travel frequently to resorts all over North America, and this hotel is comparable to some of the top 5 star resorts that we've visited. I've stayed at the Oswego in the past when I work for a local company here in Victoria, and travelled once a month for business. I've always received consistent service and quality. I never had one bad experience with this hotel, and one of the reasons I come back and continue to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Victoria. The prices are extremely competitive making it an easy decision. If I could say one thing that would push this hotel over the top, it would be to have faster internet service for those who do business.

Located just a block away from the epicenter of Victoria, you won't need to drive anywhere to see all of the sites and do business. We were upgraded from a one to two bedroom suite and it was absolutely beautiful. We were welcome by a plate of chocolates and a nice message from the management. Our beds were turned down with more chocolates when we arrived home that evening. If you're looking for a home away from home type feeling, you'll love this place. I highly recommend the Oswego Hotel to any new visitors who want to receive the best that Victoria has to offer. Thank You Oswego for a wonderful visit, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the West side have ocean views and are quieter. The two bedroom suites are wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcgraw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel, location and amenities partnered with attentive and special service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing