We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, very central and walking distance to everything”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, very central and walking distance to everything”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I travel to Victoria every year, and, hands down, this has been the best hotel experience after 15 years of trying different properties. It is a block from the inner harbour, and so central. If you have a car, splurge and pay the $15 a day for parking as it is limited during the week, weekends are not as limited. If you ask for a south facing room, you will have a view of the Olympic mtn's. Rooms with a view of the Empress and harbour are limited in general due to the Harbour Towers hotel on its north side. We had a pleasant surprise upgrade upon arrival to a 2 bedroom suite (huge! We were wishing to share it with friends but thankfully the hotel has a no noise policy after 11 pm). Spotlessly clean, and it's contemporary decor that just fits with the west coast theme will ensure we will return to stay here next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandKEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Please keep coming back to stay with us as - we appreciate you!

We are glad that you found us in the vast array of hotel choices in Victoria. Happy that you enjoyed the location and hotel amenities.

See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    405
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
416
857
84
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you're a couple and used to a king sized bed, this is not the hotel for you. I didn't get an ounce of sleep last night and I'm exhausted. Almost too tired to write this review!

When I called guest services, they informed me flatly, that ALL of the rooms have queen beds. Yikes!

So tonight, my hubby will have to sleep on the pull out... Really a shame because the room, while lovely, was very, very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the suites overall but our apologies that a queen size bed made for an uncomfortable night for you and your husband.

The rate that was paid for the suite was in line with our low season rates.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

More then we were expecting... We booked a studio, expecting a very small room, not even close! The room was large and included a galley type kitchen with every utensil included. The bathroom was large and clean with separate tub and shower. Fast internet also provided. My only complaint was that the previous occupant of the room set the alarm clock before leaving and we were awakened in the middle of the night, besides that a wonderful Hotel!! Staff helpful with directions to local sights. We will stay at the Oswego again! Book in combination with Clipper for a great price!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our suites. We have recently renovated our Studio suites and replaced with a queen size bed. Yourselves like many of our guests are now enjoying the studio and the small kitchen included.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in the 1 bedroom for 2 nights for a combined business/pleasure trip. It was located close to the Government buildings for business and a nice 15 minute drive to UVIC where our son is attending university. The inner harbour and many good restaurants are within walking distance. The full kitchen was equipped with everything we needed for a quick breakfast. The unit was spacious, very clean, nicely furnished and decorated and had a lovely view of the mountains and top of the Government buildings from the balcony. Check in and out was smooth and staff was very helpful especially when I needed directions. The turn down service was a nice touch with the Belgium chocolates and mint water. Beds were very comfortable even the hide-a-bed that our big boys slept on. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the years for business and for our boys' sports and this is one of the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PGdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are really glad that you enjoyed the hotel, amenities and the little extra touches we do for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamloopS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two weeks in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed everything about this hotel!
From the time we made our reservation until check out the staff was friendly and helpful
The common areas and the rooms were very clean
The food from the restaurant was excellent
You could easily walk everywhere and see all the sights
We stayed with two little dogs and we were made to feel comfortable the whole time we were there
I look forward to our next visit
Carolyne Salkeld

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for choosing the hotel to stay at during your visit in Victoria. We know that there is a lot of choice for our guests and we are pleased you chose the Oswego.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Oswego Hotel for a girls' weekend getaway! Short walk to the parliament buildings and anywhere in the Inner Harbour area. Located on a quiet, residential street. Professional and attentive staff. Modern decor with understated elegance. Well-stocked in-suite kitchen. Secure underground parking.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our spacious, bright suite with an oceanview on the 6th floor, southside. Only a few seagull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your 'girls weekend'. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our surroundings.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This suite was comfortable, elegant and well equipped. We were on the south side on a higher floor and so had a view of the ocean and good light at a very reasonable rate. We had booked for 5 days but due to a medical situation we were not able to be there the first night of our booking. We didn't know this until past their cancellation policy time, but on explaining our situation, they didn't charge us for that night. It is located very near the Parliament buildings and we walked all over the downtown and Beacon Hill Park. It is a delightful place and we'll certainly be staying there again as well as recommending it to anyone who'll listen.

Room Tip: Suites on the south have good light and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sobe_love_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
The experience our guests have whilst staying with us is very important to the Oswego team. We are so pleased that we delivered on that experience.

We wish you a speedy recovery and hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing